And then my soul saw you and it kind of went "Oh there you are. I've been looking for you.”

The Outsiders -

January 9, 2014. Midnight, clock out-of-reach.

It isn’t really that late, but almost everyone here is asleep. Covered under tonight’s blanket, they’re all searching inside their dreams. And I’m sitting here, scribbling outside.. my dreams.

A few cars still rush by, but the traffic isn’t noisy. The night is calm, and serene. It’s winter, so yes, very cold. But I like it. They all like it! Why, it was yesterday only that those four to five men sat by a fire on the roadside, the sky being their only roof, chatting happily. Happily, well, I hope. Maybe they were discussing life’s cruelties, or generally how busy they were during the day’s work, anything at all. I don’t know, I could only see them afar and wish they’d get themselves some hot cups of tea to feel better. Outsiders they were. Outsiders they’re.

Ammi‘s pink, pashmina shawl is what I’ve got wrapped around, to warm myself with. It gives me a cozy feeling, but the wind somehow still manages to seep through. And I like how they play- those chills- it makes me want to write, it makes me want to live.

Some crazy man shouted something down there. I don’t know what, or to whom, he just went away after that. A rickshaw honks somewhere, that too disturbing the night’s calm. Outsiders, how they leave momentary impacts.

Karachi is the city of lights, so it never really sleeps. But it’s probably too late now, because those lights that shone since hours on that tall building opposite from where I sit, have now been turned off. They were some tiny, colorful bulbs that decorated the entire building’s face, they do this every RabiUlAwwal.

Life is nothing without colors, colors are what bring life to life. But how we associate them for particular definitions! White is for enmity, but it also denotes peace. Such amazing antonyms they’ve grouped together…
He had once said, “Mout zindagi ki sab se barri muhafiz hy.” I didn’t know then what it meant, but it really puzzled me. Death is what ends life, how could it be a savior or protector, or anything that kind? He’s an old teacher, a strange mentor, Allah-walah. Outsider.

The sky is starless, the road’s almost empty. I must quit.

-

Spiral_ra_outsiders

~ Previous night’s journal entry, because today’s prompt said so.

52 responses

  1. I loved it.

    January 9, 2014 at 10:42 pm

  2. Pingback: The Outsiders | A mom's blog

  3. There’s something about the late hour, that gives the streets a beauty of it’s own. Thank you for taking me with you on your evening stroll :)

    January 9, 2014 at 10:49 pm

    • There really is! Something mysteriously magnificent in those silent hours that makes it so.. different. :) Thank YOU for stopping by. =)

      January 9, 2014 at 10:57 pm

      • Looking forward to reading about the next time you’re out for a stroll! ^.^/

        January 9, 2014 at 11:04 pm

  4. The blog’s theme is somewhat irritating to the eye!
    Or is it only my feeling…!

    January 9, 2014 at 11:27 pm

    • I’m sorry to know the blog’s theme disturbs you. Or do you mean the background image? I’ve had this previously, and I personally like it pretty much. :/

      January 10, 2014 at 3:38 pm

      • The purpose was not make you feel sorry, dear sister.

        I was feeling a bit difficult to read because of the many images of leaves and flowers spread in the background.

        The theme as such is good, and probably you like it very much because it is girly too.

        Carry on with your good work, Inshaa’Allah.

        Vassalamu Alaikum.

        January 10, 2014 at 3:54 pm

        • Thank you for your kind response. It’s girlish, yes, plus it’s a gift I got from my cousin who’s a fellow blogger which makes it special for me. :) I’ll try changing the fonts and making them more prominent so that it becomes easier and read-able. JazakAllah ho Khaer.

          January 10, 2014 at 4:02 pm

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Outsiders | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. <3

    January 9, 2014 at 11:45 pm

  7. Pingback: BLACK OUT | hastywords

  8. Pingback: Outside? | Words 'n Pics...

  9. Pingback: The outsiders | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  10. Pingback: The Great White… | The Jittery Goat

  11. Pingback: [M.M.X.I.V. 9] Social periphery | noah121weiss

  12. Pingback: This Post I Wrote | Edward Hotspur

  13. Pingback: of wtf moments « Anawnimiss

  14. Pingback: What is a death for the life? | Serenades of a dreamer...

  15. Brilliant piece Miss Maria. Looks like a page from a diary of person who lives – really lives. :)

    January 10, 2014 at 4:58 pm

    • Thank you very much for your comment, and your post. :)

      January 11, 2014 at 7:19 pm

  16. I loved the cultural touch you put to this piece. Some that awards the writing with personalization and an enigmatic feel. Those lines about how you interpret the chills, and the lights, and how humane we are in hoping that people can be happy despite the terrible disgress they face.
    Beautiful!
    And yet again, I am, but an outsider. ;)

    January 10, 2014 at 6:22 pm

    • You are, but an outsider. But unlike some that leave momentarily impacts (ln 18), a few strangers are those that leave ever-lasting imprints. They become outsiders-inside, which isn’t a word anyway. ;)
      Thank you for reading, and for your lovely comment, Ghalia. ♥

      January 11, 2014 at 5:33 pm

  17. Years ago, i read something similar about Karachi. You just made me want to look it up and read again.
    http://blogs.thenews.com.pk/blogs/2012/01/karachi-a-warrior-with-in/#disqus_thread

    January 10, 2014 at 10:56 pm

    • Oh, thank you for sharing. It’s just so good, true to each word. Karachi really is about that common man who despite his sufferings, keeps struggling in good spirits to earn himself and his family a living.

      January 11, 2014 at 6:48 pm

  18. It was dark, and I imagined I was outside your window by using your words to paint the moment. Very interesting!

    January 11, 2014 at 12:57 pm

    • Many thanks for your feedback, Aisha! :) So glad you stopped by.

      January 11, 2014 at 6:57 pm

  19. Nicely written!
    Mout zindagi ki muhafiz hay — kioN k mout janti hay k zindagi os k aanay k bad hi shuroo hoti hay!
    Isliye mout yad dilati hay k zindagi ye nahi hay–zindagi wo hay– os ki fikr karain!

    January 11, 2014 at 2:52 pm

  20. That was beautiful Maria…..The sad kind of feeling wrapped in normal-ness…..and those realities of life told in a beautiful way with you wrapped in Pink pashmeena shawal are just so perfect !! I love your ideas how you perceive life…how you think about it. That’s a blessing in itself.

    January 12, 2014 at 4:47 am

  21. Mout Zindagi ki sab se bari Muhafiz hai…..BEAUTIFUL AND VERY TRUE !! Ye kaha kis ne hai wesay ?

    January 12, 2014 at 4:49 am

  22. I am reading this piece for the 5th or the 6th time… Each time wanted to comment on this masterpiece… But the stupid internet connection never allowed my dreams to reach its destination :P

    Anyways… Mast likha hai :)

    And Happy Milad un Nabi to you :)

    January 14, 2014 at 8:51 am

    • Oh, hiii.
      Akhir comment kr hi dya. Last time 2013 me aye the na aap? :P

      Shukrya bht. =)

      January 14, 2014 at 10:12 am

      • Haan ek saal pehle comment kiya tha :P Aata to aksar rehta hoon :) Bus aapko pataa nahin chalta :)

        January 14, 2014 at 10:14 am

        • Btadia kren phir. .

          5 – 6 times parh ke iss ‘masterpiece’ me kia samajh aya? :P

          January 14, 2014 at 10:16 am

          • Jo samjha wo apne blog pe post kar diya :) Dekh Lijiye ;)

            January 14, 2014 at 10:23 am

          • OMG. Just saw. Ek minute..

            January 14, 2014 at 10:23 am

          • Badlaa le rahin hain? :-P

            January 14, 2014 at 10:33 am

          • Nahi, comment kr rhi hun. =p

            January 14, 2014 at 10:35 am

          • :) Padhaa :)

            January 14, 2014 at 11:09 am

  23. Pingback: The Silent Spectator | Random Thoughts

  24. I like how you incorporated the city of Karachi into this piece. My father, though from Punjab, attended Law school in Karachi and would often rant and rave about the beauty of the city and how it is a character in and of itself. I hope to visit it one day, InshAllah.

    January 21, 2014 at 6:02 am

    • Oh nice. Inshaa Allah zaroor. :)
      Thank you very much for stopping by!

      January 21, 2014 at 6:13 pm

  25. nice! I wish I could write like this. :)

    January 23, 2014 at 5:28 pm

    • That’s a huge compliment, thank you :)
      Have a great day ahead!

      January 23, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 679 other followers