And then my soul saw you and it kind of went "Oh there you are. I've been looking for you.”

Shapes~

Do you notice, even today, how the clouds take form of a monster outside your balcony? Do you see the evil man, smiling slyly between a cigar in his mouth; the old woman bent with a stick and bread; the large, gigantically large bird in a flight? Do you see two teddy bears cuddling? Does it amuse you? Do you see a girl writing in a pad, a lamp lit close by, and some crumpled letters in a dustbin? Does it worry you how the newborn’s cradle swings empty?

Do you hear the nightingale singing? Do you smell Jasmines, and the night queens in bloom? Do you write poems? Do you paint it? Do you preserve your moments in a photograph? Or do you, at least, just inhale it in a way it etches in your memory to never leave? Do you think of me?

SONY DSC

22 responses

  1. Do you stop to notice life? I think that’s what this is saying eh? :-)

    May 29, 2014 at 1:06 am

    • Well yes, I guess. And the fact that night skies hold fascination for many. ;)
      Thank you so much for stopping by, stacilys! Much love.

      June 7, 2014 at 5:59 pm

      • :-)
        I agree. When I think closer about it all, it makes me think how insignificant humans really seem, in light of the bigger things. It’s absolutely amazing because we’re like these tiny little creatures, stuck to this planet and floating around in space. Seems like we are so tiny and small and insignificant. Although, within our beings, there seems to be a knowing that we are so much more than insignificant nothings. Sometimes we like to think we understand it all, or at least understand a lot. I’ve found though that I will never understand everything entirely, it’s all far too big and grand for the small human mind to comprehend. I guess I just come back to faith. I know I’m tiny, yet I’m so significant and loved by my creator. There seems to be a marriage between science and creation.
        Thanks. :-)

        June 9, 2014 at 7:37 pm

        • Oh, I do love your words!

          Tiny yet significant, and loved by the Creator. :) You’re so right about this, stacilys… Most of these things are too big and too complex for our little minds to comprehend. Or maybe, we’re all so busy complicating the otherwise simpler things, that we forget to notice when we should!
          ‘Our life is frittered away by detail’, as Henry Thoreau says. We need to simplify it. :)

          Sure we’re stuck and sometimes it’s like a black hole calling our bodies inside it. But we float and float, and someday hopefully there will be a way ahead. :)
          Thank you so much for your beautiful words, Stacilys. Your last line provided me with some food for thought!
          All the best. =)

          June 9, 2014 at 7:50 pm

          • Oh, I’m so glad that I was able to be clear with my thoughts and that you could relate. And I love what you said about how we complicate things and don’t consider the simple enough. I totally agree.
            Blessings sweetie. :-)

            June 9, 2014 at 7:54 pm

  2. This is… a piercing post. I hope you get what I mean. I couldn’t come up with any other word to describe this.

    May 31, 2014 at 11:12 am

  3. so many unanswerable questions… questions which lead to more and more confusions but without thinking about their answers, we can’t understand the untold secrets. love the way you think about life… about small things which people usually dont bother thinking about.
    when i was a kid i used to see these shapes too… in the clouds, in the clustered falling paint on walls, in the trees… but then that kid slept inside me… ‘life’ made it sleep.
    love your post maria ! isi bahanay chalo i got a chance to explore and express myself in words.

    June 1, 2014 at 10:57 am

    • Lalarukh! <3

      Life made it sleep, you say. But what gave it strength to do so? Our weaknesses?

      Pata hae sometimes one plans to lose themselves. They prefer hiding. And then one day they do lose themselves. And cry. Phir kitna bhi wesa hona chaho nahi ho paty. Not talking about you.

      I love your words. The best thing about childhood is the way one imagines the world; in clouds, clustered falling paint on walls, trees. The second best thing is to let one's imagination run riot even after growing up. To concentrate on the clouds and ask them to make shapes again. Ask the wind to speak, ask Rabb to show.

      Khaer.
      I hope you're doing well. Biryaani pakaai?
      Love,
      Maria.

      June 7, 2014 at 5:30 pm

  4. I do.
    Evocative.

    June 1, 2014 at 12:16 pm

  5. Imagination is endless, and one is blessed who got an imaginative mind.

    June 4, 2014 at 2:28 pm

    • Sure is, Sarwat. :)
      Somehow, sometimes, however, a blessing becomes a curse. Or maybe, one tends to create problems for oneself themselves; and that is when a blessing seems to be a curse. Which way be it, anyway, I hope people get only good out of their blessings.

      Much love,
      Maria.

      June 4, 2014 at 8:06 pm

      • Of course dear Maria , a lot of good and positivity is needed. and people like you are blessing, who think, feel and care.

        June 4, 2014 at 8:10 pm

  6. :) I do… sometimes… :)

    June 6, 2014 at 11:16 am

    • Great!
      What shapes do you usually see? Is it fun?

      June 7, 2014 at 5:14 pm

      • I see cotton balls… tree tops… blue rivers and golden balls…

        But I see more… I see peace… I see brotherhood and I see tolerance… I think it amazing how freely these shapes do move… as if floating in the sea… some pacing towards the east… as if desperate to meet their loved ones… And others strolling lazily in the blue expanse… relaxing… And a few others, staying stagnant… gazing down upon us… and smiling…

        What’s more is amazing ease that they change form… A tree top might scatter into thousands of cotton balls or a thousand cotton balls might club in to form the tree top… Reassuring us that they all are the same…

        Thousands of shapes are painted in the vast canvas of sky each day… They rejoice their existence… play among themselves… walk and run and dance and float on the canvas… and when the time comes… disappear joyously into the oblivion… silently and selflessly…

        Its a pity that we can see only a part of the great play that is played in the skies… forever and ever…

        June 10, 2014 at 2:48 pm

        • Beautiful!

          You seriously amaze me with your words that are always brimming with hope and positivity.
          They are all the same.
          And they play and walk and run and dance and then they disappear ‘joyously’ into the oblivion when the time comes. “Silently, and selflessly”. One of the best lessons I’ve received…

          It’s a pity we can only see a part of the Great Play, true. But sometimes, it gets tough to deliberately choose a silver lining on a cloud when all it signals is a storm.
          Thank you so much for your comment, Arindam! Best wishes. :)

          June 10, 2014 at 3:22 pm

          • “But sometimes, it gets tough to deliberately choose a silver lining on a cloud when all it signals is a storm.”

            You don’t see the good thing about the clouds signalling a storm… The good thing about them is that they warn us of a storm and hence tell us to be prepared… Imagine what would happen storms came without a warning…

            As I told earlier on this blog… The real source of happiness and positivism is simply that this DYNAMIC world exists… :)

            June 11, 2014 at 11:19 am

  7. Imagination got itself redefined on reading you.
    Love you n ur thoughts!

    June 10, 2014 at 1:50 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 675 other followers