And then my soul saw you and it kind of went "Oh there you are. I've been looking for you.”

I am.

You will see me everywhere,
floating gracefully on the clouds
swimming fearlessly in the seas
I need no pillars to cling on to,
no rooftops, no floors to set my feet on.
I am a mermaid!

A ghost, an angel
a shooting star I am
the wish you count on it,
the desire you keep unheard-
I am the golden sand in time’s hand
the purple glow in a river’s flow
the secret in a book divine
the prisoner in a castle fine
I am everything-
I am everywhere
I am now, I am never
I am infinite forever.

You think you can get hold?
Like the sailors before you planned
they all died in my seas

swallowed by the deep.
Thirsty in my deserts
injured by my cacti
illusioned by my oases

begging for my mercies.

I am the shapeless cloud,
free to make my move

Noah’s faithful ark
a light in the dark
Musashi’s sword
a legend adored

I am the minaret, the temple bell
the prayer bead, salvational deed
I am your pastunreachable
your destinyunattainable
I am anything but your present.

- Maria Imran.

27 responses

  1. Maria, i simply have no words to describe how it left me speechless!

    June 23, 2014 at 1:20 am

  2. this is good :O

    June 23, 2014 at 1:31 am

  3. Terrific.

    June 23, 2014 at 6:46 pm

  4. Most interesting. As I read the poem, I thought, okay, it’s a spiritual and poetic way of expressing that you are everywhere, all the time. But the last line – “I am anything but your present” – really hit me. As though the present is the only part of ourselves we can truly own – and no one, can ever take that from us. I don’t know if that’s how you meant it, but that’s how I took it.

    June 23, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    • Wendy!
      Thank you ever so much for your detailed feedback.

      Well, I believe that to be one of the most applicable definitions of life: it’s your present, and only your present, that contains in it every opportunity and meaning. The only “part of ourselves” we can truly own. Loved the way you’ve put it. :)

      Thank you again, and have a great day!

      June 24, 2014 at 10:49 pm

      • It was my pleasure, and we agree on that!

        June 25, 2014 at 1:25 am

  5. This is beautiful. I love poetry/poems. I will be creating my own for my blog also :) http://lozziesworldofwonders.wordpress.com

    June 23, 2014 at 11:01 pm

    • Thank you! :) I am glad you like this, lozzie.
      You have a wonderful blog there! Looking forward to reading your poems.

      June 24, 2014 at 10:55 pm

  6. much like amrita preetam’s poem………mein tenu fair milan gi
    sweet words dear …. may u stay happy

    June 24, 2014 at 7:56 pm

    • Heey, thank you so much! I just listened to its recitation and read both the Punjabi and English versions. It’s beautiful! Shayad terey takhayul di chinag ban ke
      terey canvas tey utraan gi~

      And the last lines:

      When the body perishes,
      all perishes;
      but the threads of memory
      are woven with enduring specks.
      I will pick these particles,
      weave the threads,
      and I will meet you yet again.

      Also, shukriya for your kind words. Glad you liked reading this. <3

      June 25, 2014 at 10:15 pm

      • So sweet to hear this from u…….Indeed memory is a strange phenomenon. ……

        June 26, 2014 at 9:23 am

  7. Wonderful… The last stanza stands out !
    Thanks for sharing. Best wishes, Aquileana :D

    June 25, 2014 at 9:53 pm

    • Aquileana! What a lovely name you’ve got. :)
      Thank you so much for your kind comment. So happy you liked it.
      Maria.

      June 25, 2014 at 10:46 pm

  8. Very well written. Poetry as a painting that remains, vivid, in the mind long after you’ve read it.

    June 27, 2014 at 2:26 am

    • Many thanks! These words made my day. :)
      And you were missed, Writer. Hoping to read something on your blog soon!

      June 27, 2014 at 7:49 pm

  9. This was sensational! A stunning poem. This will remain in my mind long after I’ve read it :) x

    June 28, 2014 at 11:58 pm

  10. Maria… I was seriously amazed by this poem. Itni maturity aa gae hai tumhari poetry me…I never knew. Perfectly written…. Very well chosen references and excellent main theme. I LOVE IT.

    July 11, 2014 at 10:49 pm

  11. Poetry at its very best…I am …breathless!

    July 21, 2014 at 8:48 pm

    • One of the best responses my poetry has ever got me. Thank you so much!

      July 25, 2014 at 6:41 pm

  12. This one has got something enchanting about itself, as if it’s surreal, otherworldly.
    So wide, so deep in its horizon , that it seems to even overrun its creator. Im mummed!

    July 24, 2014 at 9:09 pm

    • Thank you so much, so, so much! <3 I will never forget this comment.

      July 24, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 687 other followers