Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Bookfairs are heavenly awesome!

So excited to have those two books from the bookfair held in my college! The fair was EXCELLENT! Because its just SO cool to be surrounded by numerous books in all variety. From literature to poetry, to drama and novels, research books and guides, politics and religion, ALL that you could LOVE!

Im going to write about them later when I read them because I just can’t find much time and there are still packed new in my drawer! I am having a tough schedule these days so I haven’t started them as yet. But I am sure they are going to be VERY interesting🙂

Okay, so the first book is English, the other in Urdu. The first is Honeymoon in Purdah and the other one is Qasam uss Waqt ki. Honeymoon in Purdah is a travelogue; a beautifully written Iranian journey, by Alison Wearing. This is its review by Amazon.com and Goodreads.com :

With a love of travel, Alison Wearing invites us to journey with her to Iran–a country that few Westerners have a chance to see. Traveling with a male friend, in the guise of a couple on their honeymoon, Wearing set out on her own at every available opportunity. She went looking for what lay beneath the media’s representation of Iran and found a country made up of welcoming, curious, warmhearted, ambitious men and women. With humor and compassion, Wearing gives Iranians the chance to wander beyond headlines and stereotypes, and in doing so, reveals the poetry of their lives–those whose lives extend beyond Western news stories of kidnapping, terrorism, veiled women, and Islamic fundamentalism.

So far, so good. I really wonder if I would ever travel to MY most favorite places and earn memories of such kind hosts. Iranians, beside all what the media brings, are very nice people and that is exactly what the novel portrays. <read reviews here>

‘Qasam uss Waqt ki’ is by Abu Yahya and this story is the second part of ‘Jab Zindagi Shuru Hogi’. Thats a great book too, very well-described. Very interesting. Very grasping. It’s a book about the life hereafter- the life after life.

Other books that I jotted the names of but didn’t buy are:

  • Indian Controversies. by Arun Shourie 
  • Escape from Oblivion. by Ikram Sehgal

One of these is Indian, and the other Pakistani. They both looked quite interesting and I am going to fetch them later!

So there- what’s your favorite book?

Image

Don’t you ♥ them too?

 

11 responses

  1. I ♥ books

    March 1, 2013 at 1:17 am

  2. I Love them too!!!🙂

    March 12, 2013 at 6:40 pm

  3. Did you seriously asked that question? Favourite book?
    Wow! Can you really choose one? Thats such a tough question. Whenever someone asks me that, I list almost all the books that I have read.
    As a child I LOVED Enid Blyton, there’ something enchanting about those mysteries and magical stuff that keeps your young mind hooked.
    Now, there are soooo many but The Kite Runner will be on the top of my list. I JUST LOVE THAT BOOK!😀

    August 3, 2013 at 9:33 am

    • did you seriously ask*

      August 3, 2013 at 9:36 am

    • 28 February, you are digging pretty old posts that I had seemed to forgot about too!😉
      Well I know. Favorite book is like a VERY difficult question and though I asked, I can never come up with any one perhaps.
      As guidance and all sources, ofcourse The Holy Quran.
      The first book that made me cry- The little Princess.
      Currently reading- Childhood interrupted.
      Enjoyed in childhood- Enid Blyton’s
      To be read soon- Kite runner!!🙂

      Whats your list?😀

      August 3, 2013 at 10:19 am

      • lol….thats what boredom makes you do😉
        Ofcourse The holy Quran❤
        Currently reading :You can be the happiest woman in the world + The Sealed Nectar
        The book that made me cry: ummm I don't remember actually…it might have been Thousand Splendid Suns or the Splitting of Moon (Biography of Prophet PUBH). Both made me cry, don't remember which was the first one though.
        Childhood fav:Enid blyton all the wayyyyy😀
        To be read soon: Way too many on my list..Peer-e-kamil, have to get hold of someone who'll get it for me from Pakistan coz there's no enough stock in India.😦
        How's the book that you are reading now?🙂
        P.S: I'm sorry again if I sounded rude there😦

        August 3, 2013 at 11:57 am

        • Rude? Nah.
          Hey how are these books? ‘You can be the happiest woman in the world’ and ‘The Sealed Nectar’? Recommendable?
          The one I am reading, this Childood Interrupted is by Kathleen O’Malley and well, I am not sure if you’d like it. This is the first of the kind I am reading and its about a girl who faced a whole lot of tragedies in her childhood so she basically, had no childhood she could be fond of.
          I will get you Peer-e-Kamil!! Its AWESOME! Or do you have a relative here? Otherwise realllllyy, I will post it to you.
          “Splitting of Moon” must be lovely and I will sure grab it soon Inshaa Allah.
          I wonder where I heard about the ‘Thousand Splendid Suns’. It rings a bell but I can’t exactly remember why I think I remember this.
          And guess what? Its lovely to have you reading and posting awesome feedbacks on my old posts-🙂
          Keep visiting. A whole lot of best wishes!
          – Maria

          August 4, 2013 at 9:46 pm

          • Yeah I would highly recommend those books to everyone. You can be happiest woman in the world, focuses on your self esteem, in the “modern world” where everyone’s bent on lowering our (muslim women’s) self-esteem,self-respect and self-confidence. This book will help you get through your life and help you in keeping your head up high🙂
            The Sealed Nectar is Prophet Muhammad (SAWS)’s biography toh ofcousre its recommendable😀
            I’ll shall get that book, Childhood interrupted when I get in a mood to read tragic or sad stuff then🙂
            Oh thats very kind and sweet of you. I don’t have any relatives there( I wish I had..I sometimes pray that kahin se koi paki rishetdaar paida hojaye😛 ) but we pakistani friends🙂
            Splitting of Moon, is indeed lovely.🙂
            Thousand Splendid Suns is a good read, you won’t regret getting it🙂
            The pleasure is all mine😀
            I love reading old stuff rather than latest posts😛

            August 4, 2013 at 11:00 pm

          • Loved reading your views about ‘The Sealed Nectar’- tou this too is Prophet Muhammad’s biography! I thought you were saying that for ‘Splitting of Moon’ only. Anyways I REALLY need to get both these books now!!
            AND I REALLLYYY need to get the other books you mentioned, You can be happiest woman is especially on top of the list now!
            BUT I’m not really sure if you’l like ‘Childhood Interrupted’. Its about those samaaj ki buraiyan, those ‘larki pe mazalim’. She was abused when she was a kid, to phir her entire life went that kind.
            PLUS you already know me on facebook. (I still don’t) So let me know if you want Peer-e-Kamil posted. Seriously.
            Otherwise there is an online version too and ankhon ka bura haal hoga but you can read it on Umera Ahmed’s site. Let me know if you don’t find it.
            And thankyou again.❤

            August 5, 2013 at 12:33 am

Leave a Reply

