Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

On tutoring toddlers..

Tutoring toddlers is a tough and a very sweet job! A neighbour of mine has asked me to teach her little daughter the beginning alphabets and numbers so that she can pass her admission test in a good institution and meh- ain’t it hard? I mean, I did teach the beginnings to my brother when he was young but that was so many years ago!

Teaching kids so young requires A LOT of patience! Because when you ask them to make a “2”, after having them practice it so many times, and all they do is smile, sit on laps and say: “Mae aese beth jati hun”. (I think I should sit this way), then look around, find an activity book nearby, get closer to it in inches (as if I am not noticing), put a hand over it and then say, “bahar se cars ki awaz arahi haena!” (that she can hear sounds of traffic from outside), and smile cutely again. I’d ask her sweetly to make a “2” and will repeat the ways of making it like a duck, and illustrating, and with examples of many two things to which she’d draw some lines (which wont look like a “2” at all.) Then I would hand her a pack of biscuits, open it and make her count them. (And then let her eat them just in hope she would concentrate more after a tasty treat!😉 )

It was a fun experience overall. She was nice, understood a number of things and promised to show me a “2” the next day, loved to color apples, show her pencils, and tell stories of her siblings!

But she won’t learn that easily. Only I would. To find newer and attractive ways and to deal in a playful way! I really look forward to enjoy this experience and teach that little friend of mine!🙂

26 responses

  1. very interesting. being a teacher myself i can understand it very well.🙂

    June 20, 2013 at 10:34 pm

    • Thankyou so much for your nice comment! I since childhood loved ‘teaching’ as a profession, and always aimed to become one! This is my first official experience and I really hope it turns out easier!🙂

      June 20, 2013 at 10:41 pm

      • teaching is learning:) you will learn:) keep it up:)

        June 20, 2013 at 10:42 pm

        • Thankyou so much! I’m much honored by your presence here!

          June 20, 2013 at 10:43 pm

          • pleasure is all mine. if you have time please go through my blog too. i wrote my experiences. let me search the topic then I;ll write it here for i have forgotten the title hahahahaa

            June 20, 2013 at 10:45 pm

          • Will surely go through your blog and I’m sure I will love to read them! =)

            June 20, 2013 at 10:47 pm

          • thank you

            June 20, 2013 at 10:48 pm

          • Most welcome!

            June 20, 2013 at 10:48 pm

          • do you know how can i see list of all my blogs?

            June 20, 2013 at 10:50 pm

          • Yes, there is this tab “My Blogs”. Here is the link: http://wordpress.com/#!/my-blogs/
            There, click on your posts and a list will be there!🙂

            June 20, 2013 at 10:52 pm

          • thnk you dear🙂

            June 20, 2013 at 10:53 pm

          • Most welcome!

            June 20, 2013 at 10:55 pm

          • Cinder and Kinder🙂

            June 20, 2013 at 11:02 pm

          • a Key to Keys is not bad either:)

            June 20, 2013 at 11:04 pm

          • Yay. Thanks! Gonna read them just now!🙂

            June 21, 2013 at 9:12 pm

  2. Hahah! So cute, and you must be having a wonderful time.🙂

    I once tutored 4 slum children. They named me “Batman”. And it was some fun!😀

    June 20, 2013 at 10:48 pm

  3. silentfingers

    Here I am to find a sweet and lovely blog. And a post that made me smile — and think too, of a sweet torture one cannot resist. I tried my hand at it long long time ago… and failed miserably🙂
    Thank you for your visits. Inshallah shall visit you soon.
    Stay smiling.

    June 20, 2013 at 10:55 pm

    • Delighted by your visit!
      It sure is a ‘sweet torture’! That is indeed the best word that could describe this experience. =)
      Well, I am curious to know more of your experience!😉
      Jazakillah for coming! Will be waiting eagerly for your next visit!
      Kind prayers,
      Maria.

      June 20, 2013 at 11:01 pm

  4. I tried teaching my friend’s sister to colour, and man! it was one hell of an experience. i hope the toddler you were teaching got into that institute🙂

    Cute post!

    June 26, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    • haha😀
      She loves coloring, but teaching is REALLY tough. I’d ask her, “Do you like me?” She would say ‘You are good, but I like my ammi, dadi, and abbu. I like to study at home!’😀
      So it’s practically hard!

      June 26, 2013 at 3:29 pm

  5. iamamiraa

    I was an English tutor for children and I totally understand! Patience is NEEDED to do this.

    June 27, 2013 at 4:02 am

Leave a Reply

