Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Where Are Promises Kept?

Seeping,
Seeping into my soul.
Weeping,
My empty eyes are weeping.
Singing,
Singing songs of mourn.
Mourning…
Mourning for unachievable chances
Mourning for unenviable glances
Mourning for the memories.
For the memories that only remain.
Ah.. Memories!
My memories!
‘No, OUR memories’.
Our memories.
The soul interrupts
By and again
‘We share the memories.’
‘We will always be one.’
People spun around,
And stun.
‘We will always love,
For we know what it holds.
We, just we
Believe in the powers above.’
‘We were made for each other.’
Yes, oh yes.
We were souls for each other.
We were the reasons we lived.
So
What reason do I have now?
I ask again,
And yet again.
The Mourning…
The mourning increases,
Grows louder, and louder.
‘Not here, but there,
We will see blue air.’
DEAFENING.
The sounds are deafening.
‘Because we are made for each other.’
The coffin is lifted.
With loud sounds of takbeer,
“Allah ho Akbar!”
Unstoppable cries.
Women screaming relentlessly.
Screaming,
As if the soul will return!
But where am I?
Looking.
Into the dark passages ahead,
Those await my future.
Wondering,
Where are promises kept?
If they are stored,
Once they are made,
Then where?
‘We will always be one!’
How could that be true?
Staring,
Where could they take him?
He is mine,
He told me!
Then why do they take him?
Will they stop?
Will they let him look around,
And smile at me?
He WILL look.
And smile.
I kept on looking,
And wait.
“WAIT!”
I scream.
“Don’t take him so fast!”
He has something to say.
Something of the past.
“STOP!”
I tell you,
He has to say,
With no more delay,
That he loves me!
Yes he does,
He is going to tell me!
He never leaves before saying so!
It has to happen, I know.
They stare at me and nod,
Look! They understood.
They will wait for him to say.
But “oh leave me!”
Where are you taking me to?
DON’T FORCE ME!
He has to say something.
Oh look he will.
Don’t go far.
I need to hear his last words.
Stop, don’t pull me!
‘Hey wait, let me tell you!’
Spoke then a voice between,
My cries.
LOOK He Is Speaking!
He is speaking again!
I told you he would.
I shout enthusiastically.
He never leaves me
Without saying that he loves me.
The voice interrupts,
Heavily.
“I don’t love you stupid girl.’
‘I never did!’
I observe my eyes turning stones.
I stare at him,
He is playing with me for one last time.
And I laugh!
“But oh, this one is painful.”
I laugh more as I tell him.
‘Truth is always painful.’
He continues being playful.
I roll my eyes and smile at him,
And question,
If it was the last way left
To surprise me?
But he seems to have promised,
To surprise and joke,
Until my breath skips,
And my blood clots,
Is he doing so,
So that I,
Could leave with him?
‘I never loved you.’
He says firmly,
So firmly that I froze,
I forget it is just a joke.
I gather my humor,
My energy, my love,
And ask him to stop.
“Too much for a joke”,
I tell him.
‘Truth is painful, stupid girl.’
Oh no, no, no.
I can’t stand this.
Take him away.
I don’t need him.
‘Truth is painful, girl.’
‘I never ever did love you!’
His last words are so harsh,
Harsher than all thorns,
I try to smile,
And prove I know him well.
But all that fall are tears.
They roll down,
I try to stop.
I assure myself,
Of all the love that remained,
Between the two of us.
He is lying,
He said we are one.
We will always be one.
I will forgive you this time,
But say that once more,
And I will kill you in the core.
‘It’s not just this,
I have always HATED you!’
‘Yes, I hated you.
You are just so emotional.
You are not strong.
You are immature,
Romantic?
Soulistic.
You run from truths,
You live for memories,
‘You are not my kind.’
He says.
He keeps on saying.
JUST TAKE HIM AWAY!
I shout,
I don’t want him to stay,
Even if
All of this is a joke.
I don’t care.
But he won’t go.
He has decided,
To take with him,
All the good memories,
And leave here,
With me,
Only hatred.
Rejection.
Rejection. Interception.
When it is least needed.
‘If you took my sympathies for kindness,
And my kindness for love.’
‘It is entirely your fault,’
‘I played with you a game.’
‘Yet I shall take no blame.
For I wanted you to grow.’
‘I am going away,
I am going above.
But don’t stay here thinking,
That I blessed you with my love!’
Trust me this last time,
What I said is true.
I never did love you,
I never could love you!’
TAKE HIM AWAY!
JUST TAKE HIM FAR!
He is lying to me all right.
I screamed with all my might.
They took him away far,
And I fell on my knees.
I cried and cried,
And came nobody to stop me.
The hall was empty,
And my life, emptier.
**
I woke up the next day,
With a heart heavier,
Than all stones and weights.
Burden no one could debate.
Someone knocked on the door,
And brought a cup of tea,
Along with numerous flowers,
All set in a bouquet.
I looked at them with thoughtful eyes,
Who could have been so generous?
I have died in my life,
Who is making my fun here?
TAKE THEM AWAY!
I wanted to be violent,
But I remained silent.
Then came another bouquet,
The very next day,
And bouquets followed,
Until uncountable days.
Finally I found him,
Whom had been so generous.
He was the one,
To fill all my emptiness,
With his lovely conversations,
And true love,
His companionship,
Became my greatest treasure.
His kind visits,
Filled me with pleasure.
But it took a lot of time.
To be me again.
To forget what had happened,
Or at least allow this man,
To mend me as he will.
He mended my broken heart,
With great dedication,
Removed agitation.
And carried it away.
Promising,
Never to return it wounded.
**
He kept to his promise,
Until this day,
And forever he will keep it,
I doubt this, nay!
If promises are to be kept,
They are kept so
Safely,
Into two hearts, locked,
Intertwined such,
that keys fail to unlock,
Ways obstacles can’t block.
He loved me completely,
And I gave all of mine,
For I believed in the powers,
That are hold above.
**
Today I take my daughters,
To the house abandoned,
The place where
My life changed forever,
And so did
Everything that existed.
I pray at the residence,
For all those that died,
And once lived.
And once loved,
And once lied.
For me!

Written by: Maria Imran
© CP.

First published: PoemsClub

collage

 

10 responses

  1. WOWW!! Thats all I can say….🙂

    September 2, 2013 at 1:12 pm

  2. Wonderful poetry. Though it makes me wonder…………………….😉
    So where are promises kept then?

    September 2, 2013 at 2:40 pm

  3. I’m positive I hadn’t read this or I wouldn’t have asked that question:
    If promises are kept,
    They are kept so,
    Safely,
    Inside two hearts locked,
    Intertwined such,
    Which keys fail to unlock,
    Ways obstacles can’t block.

    Love this part.

    September 2, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    • Thanks! Yes, that’s where they are kept!
      Inside two hearts locked,
      Intertwined such,
      Which keys fail to unlock,
      Ways obstacles can’t block.

      September 2, 2013 at 3:34 pm

  4. this is beautiful!!🙂 about love…and love lost…and love found!
    and especially the ending:
    I pray at the residence,
    For all those that died,
    And once lived.
    And once loved,
    And once lied.
    For me!

    September 3, 2013 at 5:19 pm

  5. Amazing and beautifully written is all i can say!

    September 6, 2013 at 6:35 pm

    • Thankyou Sahrish! So glad you liked.. I love your comments. =)

      September 6, 2013 at 9:21 pm

  6. Pingback: ihateyou. | Randomlyabstract's Blog

Leave a Reply

