Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Tum Hi Ho..

Sunday night was a Valima ceremony of another relative. We have segregated weddings here, usually, i.e. men and women have separate halls each. This trend is now moving to mixed gatherings, but still persists to some extent.

Anyways, the gathering was pretty …um, grand! And for like thirty to forty five minutes, the couple was busy in their photo shoot by some professionals, in the bridal room. However when they did come out, there was a HUGE celebration. (But what’s the worst part? I, my sister, and my cousin; the three people who were waiting the most for them were not present at that specific second. Anyways we did manage to enjoy rest of the ‘show’..)

So the celebration was – that the entire hall sunk into darkness as lights went out (on purpose) and a white spot light shone over them as they made their way on the ramp towards the stage.

(What I’m trying to say: Pin spot A focused beam of light that shines directly onto an object, like a centerpiece or wedding cake, as a highlight effect.)

A melodious song added ‘music to the event’ and what followed were those artificial, super awesome lights. Yellow, then pink, then red, then blue, then something else and then else. Not that I appreciate the heavy expenditure on the event, but it was surely a show to watch.

(Gobos Circular stencils that are put over a light to project a design or pattern. and LED lights as in color wash.)

They used smoke sprays to add more charm to it while their photographers captured their memories (and poses) and well, this song ‘Tum Hi Ho’ was my favorite part.

Update: The post got featured here: Segregated Weddings – Pakistani Bloggers. (Equally unexpected for me😉 )

25 responses

  1. We have segregated weddings here, usually.

    Wow!
    They still don’t even allow same-sex marriage here.

    September 2, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    • Wait a minute. Segregated as in separate, as in separate halls. And you know what I mean, don’t you?

      September 2, 2013 at 6:48 pm

      • Just maybe I tease sometimes😉.

        September 2, 2013 at 7:17 pm

  2. Tum Hi Ho! Kya Baat hai… Bollywood itna popular hai kya wahan pe? Achchha Hai…

    But then I wonder… Why don’t we hear too much about Pakistani Films in India?

    September 2, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    • Music and arts have no boundaries, islye😉

      Pakistani film industry isn’t blossoming, that’s why. But if you listen to songs then Rahet Fateh Ali Khan & Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan & Atif Aslam and Ali Zafar are equally popular there..

      September 3, 2013 at 2:18 pm

  3. Lol seriously segragate bus naam ka the men somehow creep into the women’s section! Somehow they find the reason. Kisi na kisi bahane, maa behen dadi biwi k bahane!
    Btw I reallly love Pakistani weddings! Don’t know why, I wanna attend one.
    I’m tired of that sappy song, not really into romantic sobgs but this one irks me. Maybe because when it was realised every second person was either humming it or listening to it. No exaggeration!

    September 3, 2013 at 1:45 pm

    • Hahaha so true! Cousins ka aana to banta haena? Or phir dulha ka bhai bhi koi na-mehram hua? Couple to sath tha hi, and there have to be another lots of men in the women section!😀
      I will invite you apni wedding me Inshaa Allah😉 Then you must come especially from India to Pakistan and get your dream (and mine) come true!🙂
      About that song, well yes, everybody is humming and loving it. I wasn’t listening to songs but was RECOMMENDED this one and I must admit that I loved it! Though its very depressive and I know that ye sun ke I wont feel good later. Songs for me are guilty pleasures😉
      Thank you for your lovely comment!

      September 3, 2013 at 2:15 pm

      • I agree its too depressive sorts. Another reason I dont really like is my taste has changed, I’m more of a old school persob now. Jab kabhi kabhi I feel like listening, I youtube the pakistani OSTs and coke studio versions and ghazals or all time fav mohammed rafi. Don’t give me that weird look😦
        Hahaha Insha’Allah aaap bulayeinn aur hum na aayein😉

        September 3, 2013 at 7:06 pm

        • But it has catchy tune to it, Tum Hi Ho I mean. After yelling at my bros/coysins/friends for pakao-ing with it I find myself humming it:/

          September 3, 2013 at 7:47 pm

          • Haha catchy it is!😉 I wonder if I will lose interest in it soon because the more something sticks to one’s mind, the more it gets irritating!

            September 3, 2013 at 9:14 pm

        • Glad to hear that review about Pakistani OSTs and music🙂 I love Cokestudio! Not that I have heard much, but I seriously liked ‘Koi Labda’ too much. Have you heard that one? The best part about studio is the use of all those unique instrumental melodies. No I am not giving you ‘that’ weird look! It was a pleasure knowing your interests! (oh but ap abhi se ghazals and old types sunne lgi😉 !)
          And haan, ana to hae, whenever however😛 )

          September 3, 2013 at 9:11 pm

          • Ohhh yeah I like that one as well. I know right they use weird instruments. Few days ago i was watching dasht e tanhai ka video and I noticed kashaf was part of the chorus singers.😀
            When I used to be Ali Zafar’s fan(die hard one at that) his ones were my favorites. I like Alif as well.🙂
            Oh yes what to do, to quote my cousins “i’m a buddhi rooh”! I love being one though!
            Jiii😀

            September 4, 2013 at 1:30 am

          • Dasht e tanhai ka video?! Kashaf you mean our kashaf? Sanam Saeed?! Super!
            Atif Aslam reminds me of Sur Kshetra- which was more like a ‘jang’ of sangeet or sur taal, whatever they call. And you used to be Ali Zafar’s ‘die-hard’ fan? Another surprise!😀
            Tou you like pop too, if you hear Atif or Ali, so the buddhi rooh label might compensate here.😉🙂

            Loved to talk with you here Miss M. Keep visiting =)

            September 4, 2013 at 5:42 pm

  4. I don’t like Atif aslam…i do like his one or two songs bt not hisfan. I meant Alif Allah By saeen zahoor.🙂
    I never watched that show… Too much drameybaazi thi.
    Love talking to you as wellll.

    September 4, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    • Oh I see. Alif Allah is awesome🙂
      Han, dramaybaazi thi😉 India aur Pakistan ka competition ko they always make so fiery, be it cooking or cricket or this. Haha kab badlen ge log?
      Anywaaaays, Falak is back to blogging? That recent hyderabadi shadi blog was written by her, right? Say my salaam to your friend..🙂

      September 4, 2013 at 8:03 pm

      • Yup Alhamdulilah she’s back🙂
        Insha’Allah I will. Why don’t you talk to her directly, she will LOVE it. Will give her a boost to get back to writing.🙂

        September 5, 2013 at 12:23 am

        • I’d love to, too and pretty much Inshaa Allah!🙂 So yes, I will surely leave some comments on her posts now, and yes do ask her to write more frequently🙂

          September 5, 2013 at 4:19 pm

  5. Lol I burst into laughter at Cabrogal’s comment😀
    Awesome work Maria….. Love this song too aur ab tu sun sun k b thak gae hun isko😉
    Congrats on getting featured😉

    September 6, 2013 at 7:10 pm

    • Haha mera haal socho :p I got baffled- mae ye to nhi keh rhi thi😉
      Thankyou Lalarukh🙂 You are simply awesome!

      September 6, 2013 at 9:02 pm

  6. My dear respected sister, Allah Ta aala, Who is our Sole Creator and knows us full well, has blessed us with such a complete code of life in which is our total benefit of this dunya and aakhirah.
    He has commanded us with separation of genders unless where permitted in terms of close family and spouses. In this command is wisdom and purity from social decadence. We should proudly say we have separation and not feel apologetic as other socities are facing the consequences of this ‘freedom’ of mixing. The respect of people being someone else’s mother, sister, wife, daughter etc is upheld.
    And regarding nikahs, Nabi s.a.w said to the meaning, ‘ A’thamu nikahin barakatan, aisarahu ma oonatun’ ( The Nikah will have most barakat where the encumberances are least.) In other words, simplicity. We should also see what was the Sunnah way of doing anything and we will always be successful otherwise it will be glamour and glitter but deprived of barakat which we are in need at all times. Allah make your nikah totally according to Sunnah and may He bless you with a Deendaar, Allah conscious partner who will care for you and help you prepare for aakhirat.

    September 30, 2013 at 4:43 pm

    • JazakAllah for your nice comment Sabeel.

      There definitely is Allah’s wisdom in His commands, and I fully agree on these points of acquiring purity. I don’t think I said that I am in favor of mixed gatherings, especially when I am not. The blog stated about this one wedding I went to, and it won’t be wrong to say that I was stunned with all that glamor.
      The trend of separate weddings is gradually coming to an end, even in Pakistan, and most weddings that are so called separate include a number of male members from waiters to the family members of the bride/groom.
      Beauty however, lies in simplicity for sure. And further ‘freedom’ is already creating too many problems.

      The point of this post was not really to encourage such practice of heavy expenditure or musical nights, and I’d appreciate if you understand though I do apologize if it so seems. (now that I see there was no such point in this post, except to share this experience and write about that day which passed.)

      JazakAllah again for sharing your views, and that Hadith which stores guidance for me, as well as all.
      May Allah guide us all. =) Keep visiting please!

      September 30, 2013 at 5:16 pm

      • Maaf if I offended you . Was just putting forward how things ought to be. Here in south africa our weddings are just as mixed and extravagant and unfortunately many break ups.
        The world needs us to show them the ideal way. They are starved of inner peace and a pattern in life. Alhamdulillah hum musulmaan hai.

        September 30, 2013 at 6:09 pm

        • Alhamdulillah we are. And no, your comment did not offend me at all. Thank you for sharing your views and experiences from there..
          The world is deprived of inner peace, and so are we. Because we have failed to understand what patterns are we actually to follow, in not just religion, but also in other spheres of life.. Of modesty, of care, compassion, and love of humanity, and also of simplicity, honesty, and righteousness.
          Stay blessed =)

          September 30, 2013 at 6:30 pm

  7. Haha…As much as I HATE this song, I keep hearing it every where !!! Gaahhh !!😀
    No really, but I loved the whole ceremony you mentioned. It must have been so romantic ! *_*

    November 24, 2013 at 12:22 pm

Leave a Reply

