Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

To Jinnah, with respect.

On your 65th death anniversary Mr. Quaid, I write with a heavy heart where your visioned country is heading to.

Violently murdered, some dead bodies targeted today now rest in peace. But their families have got a lot to suffer.

Your land’s daughter, Dr. Aafia Siddiqui is still there, imprisoned. Nobody will pay heed to her or her children’s cries.

Shahzeb Khan’s murderers have been set free, have been ‘pardoned’ now by his family after a long struggle of both parties; the murderers and the murdered.

Our president has changed and we now welcome Mr. Mamnoon Hussain to rule over us. Only with more hopes yet less expectations.

We are labelled as ‘terrorists’ and so we may remain, because entire systems are now judged on the basis of a set of people.

Those that try to rekindle hope are not known as optimists, they are called fools. Because others want them to be as hopeless as they themselves are.

May your soul rest in peace and may we be able to find ‘peace’ in this world.

Just discovered today’s writing prompt: Thank You – The internet is full of rants. Help tip the balance: today, simply be thankful for something (or someone).And this goes fine.

17 responses

  1. Pingback: Thank You, Mom | Sogna Grandezza

  2. When I think of countries that started with bold visions and great dreams that have so far made so little progress towards them I think of Liberia, Haiti and Pakistan.

    Of them all, my heart is closest to Pakistan so it is hard for me to not try to think of reasons it hasn’t yet worked, but I know I can’t even begin to understand the factors holding it back and any ‘answers’ I find will be ill-informed nonsense.

    But when I see the potential of the land and its people I know that when whatever chains now holding it back eventually break, Pakistan will surge forward in a way that will leave much of the world open mouthed in awe.

    Pakistan will probably never match the visions of Iqbal and Jinnah, but someday it will achieve a greatness of its own that will evoke envy the world over.

    Even when it’s cricket team isn’t winning.๐Ÿ˜‰

    September 11, 2013 at 7:20 pm

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Thank You | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  4. Pingback: Many Thanks | Motherhood and Beyond

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Thank You | My Atheist Blog

  6. Pingback: A day to give thanks | Life & Times

  7. When I think of the partition of India and Pakistan..it was done with the soul intention of both the countries development but what do we see now…development no only destruction not only in one but in both the countries,because of Political conspiracies the relation is deteriorating day by day and only hampering the lives of common people,looking at today’s scenario I really feel partition of two nations was not necessary…And I guess we would have been more happy…This is solely my views and I am not against any Great Leaders neither Jinnah nor Mahatma Gandhi,just this is what I feel….๐Ÿ™‚
    For my Comment I am open to criticism and I will answer to clarify my comment…๐Ÿ™‚

    September 11, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    • That’s how I feel too, Harsha.

      I look at the horrendous violence of Partition and wonder if the subcontinent will ever stop bleeding.

      But I can’t possibly understand how it feels to be Pakistani, so what would I know about it?

      September 11, 2013 at 11:18 pm

    • Harsha, I won’t condemn your point of view. I agree that, “destruction not only in one but in both the countries, is because of Political conspiracies.” and that the road to ruination instead of positive construction is where we are leading to, BUT our leaders aren’t to be blamed and nor do I call partition an ‘error’.

      In such crucial stages, no signs of prosperity seem near except the only condition of self-improvement. For we can’t easily control who rules over us and how, and towards what circumstances or ‘conspiracies’ does our politics head to, but we can amend our faults and maintain OUR circles of control.

      September 12, 2013 at 1:34 am

  8. Pingback: Thank you | A mom's blog

  9. Pingback: Thank you, Thank you… Did I say thank you yet? | Okay, what if ?

  10. Pingback: I say today is about peace. | Rob's Surf Report

  11. Pingback: Muito Obrigada! | 3rdculturechildren

  12. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Thank You | Joe's Musings

  13. I also weep for Pakistan. I may have not been born there, but it is still how I am identified. The “Pakistani” always comes first when I am described as a Pakistani-Canadian. I will not repeat what has been so beautifully posted already, but my sentiments are the same. It is a great nation that continues to fall deeper away from it’s potential.

    September 14, 2013 at 11:43 pm

    • Thank you Wajahat for your words here. I am much honored by your presence.

      Pakistan is my identity, and forever shall it remain. But I hope, and I pray that it makes me prouder of it every other day. (Or perhaps, I make it prouder every day.)

      It does ‘fall deeper away from itโ€™s potential’ and is constantly falling into those deep dungeons of defeat, but I and all other Pakistanis really hope that when it rises (and be it soon), it rises with pleasurable differences.

      Once again, thank you for your response. I look forward to read more of your amazing posts!
      – Maria.

      September 14, 2013 at 11:54 pm

  14. rjl2727

    “Those that try to rekindle hope are not known as optimists, they are called fools. Because others want them to be as hopeless as they themselves are.”
    i don’t know very well the history of your country, but what you say here is true everywhere. in america, where others think all is well, the shit stinks in so many ways, and those who try to put it right are ridiculed as hopeless dreamers. but what should one expect in a country that was built upon the conquest, dehumanization, and elimination of the original, pre-existent, people-nations far more noble than we?!?!

    October 27, 2013 at 8:16 am

Leave a Reply

