Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Al-desire.

sufism

Main nara-e-mastana, main shouqi- e- rindana
Main tashna kahan jaaon, pee kar bhi kahan jana
Slogan of Inebriation am I, drunkard mercurial-ness am I
drink may I , may I not hardly does it make a difference
Main souz-e-mohabbat hoon, main aik qayamat hoon
Main ashk-e-nadaamat hoon, main gouhar-e-yakdana
A burning heat of love am I, the eventual
Tear of ignominy , a pearl unfound am I
Main tahir-e-lahooti, main johar-e-malkooti
Nasoot ne kab mujh ko is haal mein pehchana
Pern of heaven, the gem of empires and I
Hath when humanity known me so?
Main sham-e- farozan hoon, main aatish-e-larza hoon
Main sozish-e-hijraan hoon, main manzil-e-parwana
Illuminating light of the dusk, a raging flame am I
Mordancy of parting, Destination of Pyralid am I
Kis yaad ka sehera hoon, kis chashm ka darya hoon
Khud toor ka jalwa hoon, hai shakl qalbhana
A desert of thoughts, a river of which fall?
the biggest reality of the universe yet unrevealed
Main husn-e-mujassim hoon, main gesu-e-barham hoon
Main phool hoon shabnam hoon, main jalwa-e-janana
A frozen beauty am I, a ringlet in anger
A flower, the dew am I, beauty of the beloved
Main wasif-e-bismil hoon, main ronaq-e-mehfil hoon
Ik toota howa dil hoon, main shehar mein veerana
Wasif, slayed am I, heart of the crowd
A broken heart am I, a lonely in the city.

Album : Ishq Mastana
Artist : Abida Parveen
Lyrics : Wasif Ali Wasif

Translation: Syed Faizan Abbas Jaffrey & Usama Kabbir

sufism

44 responses

  1. Loved it! Urduu *sigh*
    Btw do you know farsi? Like can you speak or read farsi? Love that language as well😀

    September 13, 2013 at 1:01 am

    • Hey thanks! I had you in mind while sharing this one! =)
      Na, I can’t speak Farsi but it quite similar to Urdu , so yeah…
      I love it too!😉

      September 13, 2013 at 12:24 pm

      • Haha I’m glad to know that😀
        Good work with the translation btw.🙂
        Lol I agree with you on what you said about farsi. The only farsi poem is nameedanam wali, thanks to my late grandfather.😀.

        September 14, 2013 at 12:12 am

  2. میں واصفِ بِسمل ہوں، میں رونقِ محفل ہُوں
    اِک ٹوٹا ہوا دل ہُوں، میں شہر میں ویرانہ

    Love the work of Wasif Ali Wasif as well as that of Abida Parveen

    Thanks for sharing!!!🙂

    September 13, 2013 at 4:41 pm

    • That’s my favorite part too. And it looks so beautiful in the font you shared..🙂

      September 13, 2013 at 6:02 pm

      • Indeed it does … lazy you … lol😀

        September 14, 2013 at 2:04 am

        • I TRIED. I couldn’t figure out how, so not really my fault.😉

          September 14, 2013 at 1:50 pm

          • Why … you should have let me know … where are you stuck???

            September 14, 2013 at 4:40 pm

          • At all the steps:/
            Give me that poem written in Urdu, I will be really grateful! :p

            September 14, 2013 at 4:43 pm

          • acha … ye to intehaa ho gyi laziness ki … !!!

            Wese muje kya mile ga … lolx :p

            September 14, 2013 at 5:09 pm

          • Uh all my virtual awards. Bus😀

            September 14, 2013 at 5:10 pm

          • WOW ….. I was expecting more materiel reward than virtual one…!!! hahahahahaha😀

            September 14, 2013 at 5:12 pm

          • -_- Urdu ghazal please. :p

            September 14, 2013 at 5:16 pm

          • I have no problem in typing it out for you … but thats not a solution… !!!

            September 14, 2013 at 5:23 pm

          • Okay there are two ways we can do this …

            Firstly I can again take you through each step on by one …!!!

            Second option is that … If you are okay with it … There is a software called Team Viewer … you can install it and through it I will access you PC from my laptop remotely … and make all the installations and settings and than I will log out … its perfectly safe … as I wont be able to log back in unless the software is up and running … secondly the software changes the password randomly every time its run…!!!

            September 14, 2013 at 5:21 pm

          • Sounds good. But the time I will require to get that software will probably be more than to learn how the first thing goes. Check email.

            September 14, 2013 at 5:37 pm

  3. Beautiful Mariya.. but did you translate this yrself? I am awestruck!!! Really

    September 13, 2013 at 8:51 pm

    • It is beautiful for sure! =)
      But um no, I didn’t translate it myself.. abhi itni brilliant nhi hun, apki shagirdi me reh ke hojaungi!😀

      September 13, 2013 at 9:30 pm

      • Jazakillah for the compliment!! I also hv a lot to learn from you!

        September 13, 2013 at 10:21 pm

  4. Dil pe asar kertay hain na ye alfaaz…… Loving the beautiful words…. Urdu poetry is way more beautiful than the English one !

    September 14, 2013 at 3:25 am

    • Han waqai. I fell in love with it the moment I found it. BUT agahi ka safar jaari hae, abhi depth me samajhna baqi hae😉
      Urdu verses are best of course QK original is beharhaal original!🙂 The credit for English goes to Syed Faizan Abbas Jaffrey and Usama Kabbir and they sure did some hard-work!

      September 14, 2013 at 1:55 pm

      • Oh yes…there are always deeper meanings than we often understand..In Sufi poetry.
        Thumbs up for their hard work !

        September 14, 2013 at 6:42 pm

  5. Was looking something on Wasif Ali Wasif – and bumped this blog… Glad to see another Pakistani blog with similar taste.

    September 16, 2013 at 9:05 am

    • I am honored by your visit. Your blog is wonderful!

      September 16, 2013 at 2:14 pm

  6. Balraj Singh

    I was loving it till i read a comment that was expressing a comparison between english and urdu poetry. Comparisons should not be made, its illogical and awful; moreover if you are not emotionally attached to some language and have not lived with it(you know what i mean) you are not going to feel it with the same way. Languages are one of the greatest inventions and they have taken so much time, emotions and determination; just like a language cannot be taken as for granted, the same way it should not be compared. I love punjabi but if i start comparing it with other languages…..my goodness.
    Anyways I am a lover of Abida’s singing but that doesn’t matters now. I need to eat something sweet.

    September 19, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    • Languages are one of the greatest inventions and they have taken so much time, emotions and determination; just like a language cannot be taken as for granted, the same way it should not be compared.

      Well Balraj, you are right about the significance of every language. Each of it has its own affects, and originality. The comment which you’re probably talking about was from a fellow Urdu-speaker and we’re just highlighting what tones the original Urdu ghazal has to offer. The English translation which has been done with a lot of efforts is equally loved, because not everyone could understand the Urdu version of it. Languages must not be compared, you are right. Have something sweet!😉

      September 19, 2013 at 1:58 pm

      • Balraj Singh

        Ah I know I got little carried away with the expression…but anyways I enjoyed the ghazal and cheers to good work, dear neighbour🙂

        September 26, 2013 at 3:47 pm

  7. 🙂 Wonderful… Bhale hi urdu sir ke 10 km upar se gayi…😦

    December 16, 2013 at 8:11 pm

    • Haha well, Wasif Ali Wasif ka kalaam hy. Mushkil hy thora but bht acha hy!

      December 16, 2013 at 10:19 pm

  8. Pingback: Gar Yakeen Danam | Randomlyabstract's Blog

  9. Wasif Ali Wasif❤🙂

    July 8, 2014 at 2:05 pm

  10. love how Abida gee sang it, i used to play it so much in my room while working on computer that my family had to literally stop me and request to play something else, Great job on the translation by the way, awesome work🙂

    September 23, 2014 at 12:52 am

    • I love it too! This and Gar Yakeen Danam by her and Meda Ishq vi toon by Pathanay Khan❤ I didn't do the translation though. Credit goes to Syed Faizan Abbas Jaffrey & Usama Kabbir.🙂

      September 23, 2014 at 5:43 pm

      • i remember when i was 6 or 7 years old i saw on PTV this 70 or 80 year old man singing his heart out, even though i couldn’t understand at that time what all his words meant the way he sang it just moved me, since than this Pathanay Kahan track is a must in my music playlist, i wish he was alive today so we cold have had him in Coke studio like Abida Parveen is in the current season, by the way since two days im totally addicted to Sajjad Ali’s “Tum Naraz Ho”…coke studio version, strings have done an excellent job🙂

        September 23, 2014 at 10:10 pm

        • Exactlyy. The way he sings + the words + the feelings those words capture is divine! Though unlike you, I got familiar with Pathanay Khan not too long ago. (Was studying some of Baba Fareed’s poetry when my teacher suggested this track and I scribbled it down quickly to listen later. Been hooked ever since.)

          Listened to ‘Tum Naraz Ho’ yesterday night only. Deserves the praise it’s receiving!🙂

          September 24, 2014 at 4:28 pm

  11. YOU are my rooh’s Rumi🙂

    January 24, 2015 at 3:10 pm

  12. Pingback: [Re-]Quest | Ria

Leave a Reply

