Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Rotten Rose.

In the darkest of times
And deepest of miseries
There is always someone
Who makes me smile.
That someone is someone
Who rubs away my tears
In manners such that I fail to realize
That someone brings me flash-backs
And joyful thoughts
Whenever,
Wherever,
May I hide and cry
He is sure to come
And support
And listen
And not listen
And advice
And not advice
And make me feel better
Always.

He is Allah.
He is God.
He is Divine.
But He’s a friend.
A friend doesn’t mind stupid things
A friend cares
A friend hears
So He does too
And more than you could
For all my deepest darkest secrets
‘My guilty pleasures’
My short and sweet sins
My bigger sins
My not-really-sins
My good deeds
My hidden
My exposed
My thoughts
My evil side
And angelic
And kinder
And crueller
Is all visible to Him.

So I hide.
I hide in a corner
And don’t pray.
And don’t talk.
And don’t ask.
I forget to be ‘good’
Then
Well, He lets me be it
I tend to turn
Into a monster
Or a killer
Or sinner
And He doesn’t stop me.
Not even once.
He does direct
But I like to ignore.
He lets me do it.
He doesn’t punish.
Just leaves me there
And I fail to mind
I ‘fail to feel’
Who’s leaving me
I fail to realize
If I am hurting none but self.
He doesn’t force anything
At all.
Then the world kicks me
Spits on me
‘Pelts stones’
And throws me away
Like garbage
In a dust can
And sometimes,
Not even in a dust can,
They think I don’t deserve it.
They leave me
Somewhere filthy
Themselves!
And call me disgusting
Can you imagine?
They do.
They just do.
They are weird.
Cruel.
Very cruel.

So then
You know
Nobody comes
Not even those whose
Tongues never used to tire
From my ‘appreciations’
And their ‘well wishes’
Nobody
Picks the fallen rose.
They let me dry
And stink
Just as a ‘rotten rose’ does?
So yes,
There I find
Allah.

He comes
Wipes my tears
Clears my fears
Holds me
Doesn’t scold
Even when I do deserve
His Scoldings.
He makes me forget my past
And tells me how I could make
My future brighter.
I bow.
He smiles.
I then make some promises
Of ‘never disobeying’
He still smiles
Though He knows
What a liar
A coward
A ‘rotten rose’ I am.

– RandomlyAbstract

58 responses

  1. Delightful that you find solace with the God of your understanding.

    October 11, 2013 at 1:42 am

    • I do find Him the only ‘return point’. Thank you for your kind comment! =)

      October 11, 2013 at 2:48 pm

  2. randomblurting

    Moving words๐Ÿ™‚

    October 11, 2013 at 2:08 am

    • Glad you thought so๐Ÿ™‚

      October 11, 2013 at 2:48 pm

      • randomblurting

        ๐Ÿ™‚

        October 11, 2013 at 3:51 pm

  3. I love it! I had a similar inspiration from Him when I wrote “Are You There, God?”. I’m a firm believer that Allah allows us to stumble so that we can eventually find our own way and the right path.

    October 11, 2013 at 3:37 am

    • Wow, thank you.
      And you’re right. Stumbles and falls come for reasons, that we fail to comprehend before. We blame anybody or everybody, because we love to blame, and we find blaming the easiest option.

      Read your post ‘Are you there, God?’. It is superb!

      October 11, 2013 at 2:59 pm

  4. The ‘like’ is for both this excellent poem and for ihateyou.

    I don’t know why you pulled ‘ihateyou’ – I thought it was great.
    I especially liked the ambiguity.
    Ghost story or stress related flashback? Who can say?

    October 11, 2013 at 10:03 am

    • You read ihateyou already?
      Not really deleted, just pending some reviews, and then I’d probably send it to the Special One.
      Glad you liked it, Thank you!

      October 11, 2013 at 3:04 pm

  5. Pingback: Rotten Rose. | Pakistan Blogger

  6. “He still smiles
    Though He knows
    What a liar
    A coward
    A โ€˜rotten roseโ€™ I am.”
    The best lines.
    Sometimes words of appreciation cannot qualify for the feelings inside.
    Somethings are better left unsaid.๐Ÿ™‚
    It is now.

    October 11, 2013 at 3:54 pm

    • Thank you for leaving such lovely words! Sometimes things left unsaid do really qualify better.

      October 11, 2013 at 6:16 pm

  7. Love it! You have penned my thoughts. Seriously.
    He is so loving; Al-Wadood and Ar-Raheem. Without Him we are nothing. Love Him. And I love you for His sake and may He keep loving and forgiving us. Aameen๐Ÿ™‚

    October 12, 2013 at 1:35 am

    • Aameen.
      And thank you! Glad that you loved it, glad that you could relate.
      He is Al-Wadood, Ar-Raheem, but we actually forget it all on purpose, by dragging self into deep, ugly holes of negativity. And He comes back and provides rest to our otherwise resltess ousls, listens to us, loves us.
      Read this by Wajahat, you’ll love it.
      And hey I love you too! Love the lines ‘I love you for His sake and may He keep loving and forgiving us’.๐Ÿ™‚

      October 12, 2013 at 4:09 pm

  8. Great. I can’t believe you are just a teen๐Ÿ˜›

    October 12, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    • Haha shussh.

      October 12, 2013 at 6:05 pm

      • as you say love๐Ÿ˜€

        October 12, 2013 at 6:28 pm

        • Age is just a factor you see, experience is what counts.๐Ÿ˜‰
          Thank you so much for coming and reading my piece.

          October 12, 2013 at 11:55 pm

          • I second you on that. It is truly my pleasure๐Ÿ™‚

            October 13, 2013 at 12:11 pm

  9. wonderfully written

    October 13, 2013 at 2:06 am

  10. Ain Riz

    wow

    October 13, 2013 at 3:08 am

  11. Nicely written.

    And your blog is amazing.

    October 13, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    • Thankyou so much! Glad you came by!๐Ÿ™‚

      October 14, 2013 at 8:11 pm

      • It was worth it.

        Keep writing.

        October 15, 2013 at 1:25 am

        • Thank you again! Best wishes!

          October 15, 2013 at 1:35 am

          • Thank you๐Ÿ™‚

            October 15, 2013 at 1:46 am

  12. Criticism: the verb of advice is advise. And it’s not a dust can, it’s a dust pan. Or a trash can.
    Comment: The concept of a rotten rose is intriguing to say the least. I love your emotions in this poem.

    October 15, 2013 at 9:36 pm

    • I know it’s dust bin, but I used ‘dust can’ according to the image I had in mind. Trash can sounds better though.
      Thank you!

      October 15, 2013 at 9:37 pm

  13. fahaad humayun

    oh so you are a teenager๐Ÿ˜›

    and I think I never received I hate you. Or my weak memory deceives me.

    May 9, 2014 at 11:44 am

    • Your comment is so exactly related to the post.

      Anyway, yes.
      I didn’t send it because the Special One deleted his blog, so I lost YC’s email.

      May 9, 2014 at 6:26 pm

      • fahaad humayun

        fahaad.humayun@thevoiceofyouth.com

        It is related to the post. In a way.

        May 9, 2014 at 6:55 pm

        • I don’t know how it is, but I needed to read the Rotten Rose. Thank you for your comment too.

          May 9, 2014 at 6:58 pm

          • fahaad humayun

            I’m a messenger from divine may be๐Ÿ˜‰

            May 9, 2014 at 7:01 pm

          • fahaad humayun

            still waiting

            May 9, 2014 at 7:17 pm

          • for the email? I will send it to you soon, Fahaad.

            May 9, 2014 at 7:23 pm

          • fahaad humayun

            yes obviously.
            well this time please do it before it gets deleted.

            May 9, 2014 at 7:24 pm

          • what a threat, Masha’Allah. Yes sure. I need to check a few things.

            May 9, 2014 at 7:28 pm

          • fahaad humayun

            it wasn’t a threat but if you took it as one then it is very interesting. sure.

            May 9, 2014 at 7:30 pm

          • Of course, deleting blogs could be a hobby for some .

            May 9, 2014 at 7:33 pm

          • fahaad humayun

            or necessity.

            May 9, 2014 at 7:36 pm

          • yes.

            May 9, 2014 at 7:37 pm

  14. miss.mysterious

    I loved this!โค
    MashaAllah very well written!

    May 22, 2015 at 8:14 pm

    • Jazakillah, and salam. I had forgotten this one and I don’t know how you found this but reading this again made me realize how much I needed to do so. Thank you for your comment and thank you for visiting!๐Ÿ™‚

      May 26, 2015 at 10:37 pm

      • miss.mysterious

        Waeeyak!
        Wsalam ^.^
        I found your blog when I found https://shewritescrazy.wordpress.com/ :3 and then I just randomly read alot of posts on both your blogs.

        I really liked all your posts! Your descriptions are ahmazing and the way you put the pics with everything that goes very well! And Masha Allah you write in Urdu very well!
        I think you are a very beautiful person.๐Ÿ˜€
        I have a friend her name is also Maria and she also has a blog https://girlwiththegreenbook.wordpress.com/ you can check it when you have the time.๐Ÿ˜›

        Ive blabbered so much.hehe๐Ÿ˜› so anyway…
        Keep writing and keep smiling!โค

        June 15, 2015 at 9:15 pm

        • That’s so sweet of you! THANK YOU.โค I am glad you like all of that. Glad you read through, glad you left such wonderful feedback.๐Ÿ˜€

          I just checked your friend's blog and I am so delighted. We share our birthday months too.๐Ÿ˜‰ Definitely gonna read her things. :3

          Thank you again for your kind words, hoping to see you around.๐Ÿ™‚ Maria

          June 15, 2015 at 10:04 pm

          • miss.mysterious

            No actually…Thank you๐Ÿ˜€ for writing so wonderfully!
            I sure am glad to have found your blog.:P Alot of your posts are thought provoking and I adore that fact!

            Welcome ^.^ Sure Ill be here and there on this blog.
            In Sha Allah since its summer Ill have time to read.

            June 16, 2015 at 2:24 pm

          • Insha Allah! ^_^ I am deeply grateful. It means MUCH to me.๐Ÿ™‚
            You don’t write?

            June 16, 2015 at 7:11 pm

          • miss.mysterious

            Awh ^.^ Ill share your blog link to another blogger friend of mine. :3
            https://tinkererofwords.wordpress.com/
            I do write๐Ÿ˜€ but not at the level you are.๐Ÿ˜›
            I dont have a blog . :3

            Hey give me a link to something that you felt was the most unique post on your blog. (:
            There is so much to read here,I read random things.๐Ÿ˜„

            June 16, 2015 at 9:01 pm

          • You’ve got some cool friends.๐Ÿ˜€ We in our friend circle, like mostly from school, are same. Matlab we love literature and the sort… So anyway. You doooooooo write! Why don’t you blog? Is there any way I can read your stuff? [Even your name is a mystery to me.] xD

            Hey give me a link to something that you felt was the most unique post on your blog. (:

            Ummmm. You might like mess and I personally feel close to Kashkol , and finally there’s fireworks. Though I can’t guarantee you’d like even one of these but random they are, yes.๐Ÿ˜„

            June 16, 2015 at 11:24 pm

          • miss.mysterious

            Hehe yes Alhamdulillah ๐Ÿ™‚
            My friends are I are same in many ways and unique in many others.๐Ÿ˜€
            Yes I do write :3 I don’t know recently have been thinking about it but I think I MIGHT find it hard to manage with my studies and I MIGHT get lazy my lil sis has been pushing me to start a blog๐Ÿ˜„ but Idon’tknow..?๐Ÿ˜›
            Yes sure I can email you if you like. ๐Ÿ™‚ Yeah let some things be a mystery.๐Ÿ˜›

            I’ll check those out.๐Ÿ˜€

            June 17, 2015 at 1:14 am

          • Listen to your lil sis. :3 Start a blog, wordpress is a cool host. You’ll enjoy it as long as you stick to the ‘writing freely’ rule, pakka.

            YES, email me. I would say send them on Facebook but someone has to keep privacy, so… :p magnanimmous_m@hotmail.com (Don’tcha make fun of the old class email id, I’m gonna make a better one soon xD)

            June 17, 2015 at 2:26 pm

        • miss.mysterious

          In Sha Allah I…might…maybe….soon..?
          Yes I know WP seems cool. (:
          Ohoo nahi bhai I love the word magnanimous๐Ÿ˜„

          June 17, 2015 at 5:21 pm

          • Inshaa Allah. Looking forward to it. :’) SOON.

            June 17, 2015 at 5:36 pm

          • miss.mysterious

            In Sha Allah X3

            Hey I tried to send you an email and got this message
            Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:magnanimmous_m@hotmail.com:/
            If I comment here can YOU delete any of my comments?๐Ÿ˜›

            June 17, 2015 at 7:31 pm

          • Baji you made a lil mistake. Try magnanimous_m@hotmail.com otherwise I could connect you to a contact form. Warna yes, comments can be moderated so you can surely write it down here! ^_^

            June 17, 2015 at 7:39 pm

          • miss.mysterious

            Me no Baji๐Ÿ˜ฆ
            I emailed you.๐Ÿ˜€

            Ohkay tell me do you want to read a quote or poem? English or Urdu?
            I also umm accidentally wrote a story. ^.^

            June 17, 2015 at 7:57 pm

Leave a Reply

