Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Bizarre. Beep. Sleep.

collage_birds_ra

Caged bird
I will cut your feathers
And let you free, forever.

Old prisoner
I will slay your throat
And let you escape from here.

Little kid
Hand me your kite
And play with rifles instead.

Solitary girl
Sing me songs of mourn
For I will kill your mother now.

White teddy
Close your eyes tight
As I rip off your cotton bod.

Brave sailor
Laugh and rejoice
Until I draw a hole in your boat.

Wounded warrior
Count your last breaths
As I finally shoot this arrow.

Sweet baby
Smile once more, and last
As I snatch you away and throw.


– RandomlyAbstract.

I was.

35 responses

  1. rjl2727

    wow!! that was very intense. for someone who hasn’t been posting for awhile, you came back with a vengeance, excellent piece of writing. i hope you are well.

    December 16, 2013 at 10:49 pm

  2. The anger and vitriol is so clear and hard-hitting. Definitely something new in your writing repertoire. It is welcomed, at least by this reader.

    December 17, 2013 at 4:16 am

    • It is welcomed, at least by this reader.

      Thank you for that!🙂

      December 18, 2013 at 8:49 pm

  3. this is cruel😦

    December 17, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    • It is.. But see, I didn’t post the other half of this post which was crueler🙂 . I’m sorry though..

      December 18, 2013 at 8:50 pm

  4. Caged bird
    I will cut your feathers
    And let you free, forever.

    Cut my feathers and I shall bleed
    I won’t fly but the blood shall flow
    And sow the seeds of a resilience new.

    Old prisoner
    I will slay your throat
    And let you escape from here.

    Slay my throat and I shall cry
    I won’t say but the I shall be heard
    And a voice of courage shall rise.

    Little kid
    Hand me your kite
    And play with rifles instead.

    Give me the rifle and I shall fire
    I won’t aim but I shall shoot
    And the bullet shall hit you instead.

    Solitary girl
    Sing me songs of mourn
    For I will kill your mother now.

    Kill my mother and I shall weep
    I won’t sing but tears shall flow
    And rocks shall melt, and so shall you.

    White teddy
    Close your eyes tight
    As I rip off your cotton body.

    Rip me off and I shall wait
    I won’t see but the cotton shall be free
    And be woven again to form your shroud.

    Brave sailor
    Laugh and rejoice
    Until I draw a hole in your boat.

    Draw a hole and the boat shall sink
    I won’t cry but million would do
    And tears of blood shall flood your dreams.

    Wounded warrior
    Count your last breaths
    As I finally shoot this arrow.

    Shoot the arrow and I shall die
    I won’t count but breath shall be gone
    And another shall point to you.

    Sweet baby
    Smile once more, and last
    As I snatch you away and throw.

    Throw me away and I shall sleep
    I won’t smile but doomsday would
    And haunt till the end of your life.

    December 18, 2013 at 9:39 am

    • Ouch. This… I wanted it.

      December 18, 2013 at 8:54 pm

      • Didn’t get you…

        December 18, 2013 at 8:57 pm

        • Remember that response poem you wrote for ‘stoning me’?

          This one.. It speaks of cruelty in a crueler way but expresses a brighter end. As in each stanza haunts the oppressor and marks their final doom. Which in reality is what they deserve, and what they’ll receive.
          ‘Slay my throat and I shall cry
          I won’t say but the I shall be heard
          And a voice of courage shall rise.’

          Such powerful expressions, Arindam. Amazing. I needed this because.. there had to be a future for that kid, that sailor, that warrior.

          December 18, 2013 at 9:10 pm

          • You write beautifully Maria! The original poem was too good to be so cruel… So I tried to modify it a bit…

            Ya… they all had to have a future…

            Although, I am sort of disappointed though… As the addition did not rhyme (Yes I am extremely fond of poems that rhyme – and my friends call my poems ‘childish’ for the same reason :P)

            Waise… I heard of a second half of the poem… where is that?

            December 18, 2013 at 9:34 pm

          • Don’t worry about that, sometimes things are better without rhymes.😉
            The other half wasn’t a continued part, but it was related. Personal paragraphs and three other stanzas, but my best-friend suggested not to spread further darkness in this already miserable world. I had to agree.🙂

            I’m combining these two and posting them if that’s okay?

            December 18, 2013 at 10:27 pm

          • Yup… Its fine… You dont have to ask each time…

            December 18, 2013 at 11:27 pm

          • Haha acha theek.

            December 18, 2013 at 11:37 pm

          • 🙂 Arrey… Title to de dijiye post ka…😛

            December 19, 2013 at 8:14 am

          • Couldn’t think of any appropriate. You decide.🙂

            December 19, 2013 at 1:33 pm

          • Itne kathin kaam mat diya kijiye… dimag bahut chhota hai…😛

            December 19, 2013 at 1:38 pm

          • Phir untitled hi sahi. Kyunke mera zada chota hy.😛

            December 19, 2013 at 2:06 pm

          • Hadd hai… “Killing the Immortal”…
            Itni mehnat dobaaraa nahin karoonga…😉

            December 19, 2013 at 2:12 pm

          • Lol thank you.

            December 19, 2013 at 2:13 pm

          • Deal broken… Treat?

            December 19, 2013 at 2:13 pm

          • Aee hae. You’ll have an extra award in my next award-post.😛😉

            December 19, 2013 at 2:17 pm

          • Woh award post mere jeete jee post hoga ya nahin?😉

            December 19, 2013 at 2:22 pm

          • Hojaega.😀

            December 19, 2013 at 2:40 pm

  5. This is intense. Painstakingly amazing. I love such pieces that have the beauty of literature yet the ache.
    Gorgeously done, Maria.🙂

    December 18, 2013 at 4:54 pm

  6. Pingback: Randomlyabstract's Blog

  7. Intense and powerfully written, very provocative piece. Great post!🙂 x

    December 19, 2013 at 1:46 am

    • Thank you, beckarooney!🙂 So glad to have your feedback! Have a good day ahead. x

      December 19, 2013 at 1:57 am

      • You’re very welcome! Same to you too😀 x

        December 19, 2013 at 2:01 am

  8. Have absolutely no idea, how I missed this…
    The themes are resonant. The structure and rhythm is pensive.
    Tragic but it’s real and absolutely awe-inspiring!

    December 25, 2013 at 12:51 pm

  9. Soumyajit Pradhan

    This, I loved and also the response poem by Arindam. Great going there!

    March 18, 2014 at 11:44 am

    • Thank you so much! Don’t know how I missed this comment. Thank you for reading.🙂

      June 15, 2014 at 8:26 pm

  10. miss.mysterious

    I saw these words Bizarre. Beep. Sleep. a couple of times while I was on your blog but I never read it.
    But today I did,and honestly this wasn’t what I expected.
    Nicely written.I would have loved it more if you couldn’t bring,but drag it something a bit positive.😛

    I liked Aridhams comment ( I don’t usually read comments but I’m glad I did read this one )..
    Throw me away and I shall sleep
    I won’t smile but doomsday would
    And haunt till the end of your life.

    Nonetheless,there was beauty in original post! (Y)

    June 17, 2015 at 1:06 pm

Leave a Reply

