Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

(In)sanity.

insanity_ra
 

15 responses

  1. Fantastic set of quotes Maria, your own not the least.

    The Joker’s monologue is actually a melodramatised summary of the salient points of the philosophy of the late Scottish psychiatrist (and anti-psychiatrist) RD Laing.

    March 8, 2014 at 11:16 am

    • hey thanks.
      The last time I read Laing was when Rjl had shared a quote on Insanity being a perfectly rational adjustment to an insane world.. .
      Now I see he wrote poems too. Have you read Knots?

      March 9, 2014 at 3:07 pm

      • I’d heard he wrote poems but have never encountered them. I’ll see if Google helps.

        His books and papers on psychiatry were a pleasure to read though, which is more than I can say for most of what I had to plough through at uni.

        March 9, 2014 at 3:36 pm

      • Have you read Knots?

        You know you couldn’t have pointed this out to me at a more apt time.

        Check it out, Rexie.
        Try not to cough.

        While I was Googling it I ran across a quote that reminded me of a conversation we once had Maria.

        True guilt is guilt at the obligation one owes to oneself to be oneself. False guilt is guilt felt at not being what other people feel one ought to be or assume that one is. – RD Laing

        March 9, 2014 at 7:03 pm

        • This is like the knottiest thing I’ve ever read. Knots, that is.

          He does not think there is anything the matter with him

          because

          one of the things that is

          the matter with him

          is that he does not think that there is anything

          the matter with him

          Eeep. Anyway, yes I get that quote. So perfectly fits our conversation.

          March 9, 2014 at 8:41 pm

          • He does not think there is anything the matter with him

            because

            one of the things that is

            the matter with him

            is that he does not think that there is anything

            the matter with him

            Isn’t Laing uncanny?

            That just happens to be the only thing that’s wrong with me.

            March 9, 2014 at 9:55 pm

          • Uncanniest, I guess

            March 10, 2014 at 5:16 pm

  2. Rexie

    Kya Maria, ufff! I mean, really ufff! Lol. I am only half insane. You have inspired me to desperately seek the quintessential insanity. Thank you!

    March 9, 2014 at 12:15 pm

    • Haha. Thanks. I’m glad you and Cabrogal turned the pages.😉
      Sigh, Rexie, seeking it together… quintessential insanity, yes that’s the word.<3

      March 9, 2014 at 6:35 pm

      • Rexie

        You are writing and putting forward great stuff nowadays. Thoda FB ko bhi aisey hi shandaar banao yaar.

        March 9, 2014 at 6:54 pm

        • Shukriya Shukriya.😉
          Glad you like what I write. The only thing I’m trying to do here nowadays is to blog freely, like I did earlier.

          Used to be very active Fb peh, but ab it kinda lost its charm. Books, blog, uni.😉 Will try best, though.

          March 10, 2014 at 5:28 pm

  3. Hah I’m sure plenty of people can relate to this – cleverly put🙂

    Lily

    March 10, 2014 at 4:52 am

  4. “How you judge me is your business.. but i make it mine”..
    Just so true..
    Thanks fr sharing this.

    March 12, 2014 at 4:19 pm

  5. Pingback: To Hell. | Randomlyabstract's Blog

Leave a Reply

