Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Forget the title.

Talk about WONDER!

Written by R.J. Palacio, Wonder is about a guy August Pullman (Auggie) who suffers from some serious facial deformation; something so rare only one in four million people get. So he has it, and his eyes aren’t exactly at the right place and his ears are well, kinda squished up and his face looks like – it looks like it melted in fire or something.

He’s starting his 5th grade at Beecher Prep and it’s like his first experience to a school because he was always protected and pampered, and tutored, at home by his mommy and dad and Via. He’s used to people, by the way, he knows they freak out at the mere sight of him. School is just a bigger, tougher, really real ground.

Some people in this world very perfectly misunderstand their state; they think they’re Gods, each one of them, which they aren’t of course. They can not be! But do they get it? They do actually… later though.
They also think that any other person who doesn’t follow well with society’s definition of normality is ‘abnormal’, and has no right to live, which is a pretty abnormal idea if you ask me.

Anyway, Auggie gets his share of stares and screams, and miseries like that, but he strives strongly, making it a memorable journey. He’s smart, he’s funny, he’s intelligent too. And he’s sensitive; he is fully aware of what goes around him, and he notices people who think he’s not noticing while they make faces or curse under-breath.

This book is an interesting one: it will keep you hooked until the very end. You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and you’ll feel what he feels.
But you will also see what others see, what they feel. Like for instance, Via doesn’t get that attention her brother does, and her parents don’t always remember her plays and things at high-school. Jack Will, he kinda betrayed Auggie. Julian is pretty obnoxious, Summer, cool beans.

What I love most about this book is how the writer switches roles; there are about five to six tellers here, each describing his/her parts most realistically.

All in all, this was a fantastic read. What I learnt from it is simple: we take things for granted. We don’t thank. We complain about the stupidest ever problems that aren’t even problems. And that we forget how important our actions are, how important KINDNESS is.

So here’s to thank you a million times, Carluh. I’m so glad you sent it to me, and you know I loved it! (=

41 responses

  1. Seems to be a lovely read. Gonna grab this one soon, surely inshaAllah🙂

    March 8, 2014 at 10:48 pm

    • It is.
      And you should.🙂

      Many thanks for your comment!

      March 9, 2014 at 2:51 pm

  2. Carluh Vicknair

    You’re welcome, Honey!

    March 9, 2014 at 2:34 am

  3. seems like a nice… kind of motivating story… thanks for sharing about the book🙂

    March 9, 2014 at 2:51 pm

    • It is!🙂
      It has got so much about so many things: friendship that lasts forever and friendships that change into enmity; people that save and people that hurt; life as we see and life as it is.

      Thank you so much Harshda for stopping by!❤

      March 9, 2014 at 2:56 pm

      • It’s always a pleasure to stop by at your blogposts🙂 and now i think I may be reading the book …:)

        March 9, 2014 at 2:58 pm

  4. I’m sold !
    Off to find this book !😀

    March 9, 2014 at 3:23 pm

    • Haha yaay! I did it then. ^_^

      March 9, 2014 at 3:24 pm

      • Yup, your magic words ‘put a spell on me’😀

        March 9, 2014 at 3:25 pm

        • Lol you made my day. =p
          Any good book that you’re reading nowadays?

          March 9, 2014 at 3:33 pm

          • Aww, That’s so sweet you Maria🙂

            And I am reading a book alright but I won’t say a good one. Lol
            50 shades of Grey…uhemmm… *Cough*😀

            March 9, 2014 at 3:35 pm

          • Oh, yeah. Uhemm. *coughs back*
            =p

            March 9, 2014 at 3:38 pm

          • The Kite Runner is pretty great though !

            March 9, 2014 at 3:40 pm

          • I haven’t read that one! CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? I mean, I’m crazy after it and I STILL haven’t got a copy in my hands. Soon though, Inshaa Allah. ^__^

            Reading Jeffrey Archer now. Let’s see how that turns out.
            P.S Have you read Bano Qudsia?

            March 9, 2014 at 3:46 pm

          • Haha, its okay. I’ve not read Hunger Games yet, Hard to believe either.So we are even !😛

            Kite Runner is pretty unconventional book but Its very well written, So Good. You have got to read it!

            I have not heard about Jeffery Archer before, which book of his are you reading?

            Also I love Urdu Adab, but unfortunately I have never gotten a chance to marvel it. So No, haven’t read Bano Qudsia either.

            March 9, 2014 at 3:56 pm

          • Lol awesome! =p
            yeah, I do need to read Kite Runner soon. I need to read all by Khaled Hosseini actually. Just hoping that the day comes soon. ‘Budapest’ and ‘Samir & Samira’ are two others on my wishlist.

            To be honest, I haven’t read Archer before either. This one is ‘Kane & Abel’ and I was only on the 5th chapter when I decided to read Wonder first.😉
            Anyway.
            It always feels so good to discuss books with someone. Thank you. I hope you get Hunger Games soon.😀

            March 9, 2014 at 5:56 pm

          • Oo Oo and you have to read this novel LEAP OF FAITH by Danielle Steel, its one of my most favorite novels of all time, along with THE HOST by Stephanie Meyer and The Kite Runner of course.

            Yeah but I’m too busy with the blog right now as I have a lot to catch up to as I have been away for quiet a long time. Maybe after next semester I’ll get to read Hunger Games😛

            P.S the feelings are mutual, loved talking to you as well🙂

            March 9, 2014 at 8:03 pm

          • Okaee so I now have 5 books in my reading wishlist.😉 Thank you for suggesting them, by the way. I’ll make sure to search n get them soon, hopefully! (though my ‘soon’ never comes too soon but well I’ll try.:P )

            And yes, you were away for quite some time. Great that you’re back. ^_^ Lol next semester then. Filhaal your blog and your medical studies are there to not bore you.😀

            March 10, 2014 at 6:30 pm

          • Haha, you are just like me. My “Soon Enough” is not as soon as you’d imagine !
            Thank you, I just hope I stick through even when next semester starts. It just gets really hard you know. Too much pressure I guess.

            March 10, 2014 at 8:04 pm

          • Of course! We’re non-biological twins, remember?😉
            About pressure and stuff, I understand. Good luck with everything, Sheen. =)

            March 10, 2014 at 9:07 pm

          • Ah, yes of course I remember🙂
            Thank you Maria, Same to you. It was nice chatting up with you🙂

            March 10, 2014 at 9:08 pm

          • My pleasure. ^.^
            I found out that post where we sorted this. Interestingly enough, it’s the same ‘soon not-too-soon’ conversation we were having.😉

            March 10, 2014 at 9:12 pm

          • Ooh my God, You are so right Maria !!!!
            Hahaha, this is unbelievable, just wow !
            Better get my birth certificate out , have to check for sure now about our sisterhood !😀

            March 10, 2014 at 9:39 pm

          • Haha ikr. =p We are the Cool Coincidences😀

            March 11, 2014 at 5:07 pm

          • It will be quiet a cool band name actually, COOL COINCIDENCES !😀

            March 11, 2014 at 6:49 pm

          • Lol yeah. We’ll plan that on our first twin-reunion.😀 Let’s meet. ^_^

            March 11, 2014 at 7:31 pm

          • Haha, Sure, Where shall we do that?😀

            March 11, 2014 at 9:26 pm

          • Somewhere between Wah Cantt and Karachi!😉

            March 11, 2014 at 10:23 pm

          • Haha, Well that’s hard….Have you ever been to Islamabad?

            March 11, 2014 at 10:36 pm

          • NEVER.😦
            Do you plan on visiting Karachi anytime soon?

            Or we can always use skype. ^_^😀

            March 12, 2014 at 5:23 pm

          • I have some relatives living there, but I haven’t visited since 8-9 years.
            And yes skyping is a good idea. Maybe someday !🙂
            Do you have an E-mail?

            March 12, 2014 at 8:59 pm

          • Oh.
            A few relatives are coming to Islamabad next week. I can only send a letter.😀
            Here’s my email thing, by the way. You’re on Facebook? Because there’s just one there with your name.🙂

            March 12, 2014 at 9:12 pm

          • Haha, letter would be something new !
            Although there are much better ways of communication now, like you said Facebooking !😀
            And well you can try and send me friend request if it is me, you will know….but if it isn’t I don’t know what you can do! Lol😛

            March 12, 2014 at 9:46 pm

          • Ha yes. I just did.
            If it is you, make sure to respond.😛

            March 12, 2014 at 10:03 pm

          • I just messaged you !😀

            March 12, 2014 at 10:12 pm

          • (✿◠‿◠)

            March 12, 2014 at 11:16 pm

  5. Hi. Looks like an awesome read. Thanks for sharing. I am sorry to say but this background makes it difficult to read. See if you can keep it white or a plain pastel. Thanks.🙂

    March 11, 2014 at 1:34 pm

    • Hey, thank you for your comment. I’ll try changing those colors soon. Keep visiting!🙂

      March 11, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Leave a Reply

