Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

khayaal ~

Withdrawing herself from her environment, her present, and her demonic thoughts, she lay face downward on a bed; cuddled and crying like a three-year old. A painful shriek would suddenly escape her lips some time between her silent sobs, and stir the angels that surrounded her.

“Why do you cry?” I asked, waiting impatiently for a response. But I knew I won’t get one and I didn’t, for she never trusted anybody. Not even her own self.

“Please stop wasting your tears? It hurts me to see you like this!” I begged only to be ignored again.

It was after some long minutes that she stopped, and the room fell silent; the kind of silence where you could have heard a pin drop clearly. Then she moved and stretched, sitting finally at the corner of her bed and began to stare her hands.

“Pretty girl! Will you listen to me?” I moved towards her, pausing for a second and then resumed, “Why do you cry? Do you know not how painful it is, to see a soul shatter in front of your very eyes? And don’t you know how, for every dark cloud, a silver lining has been created? For every ailment a cure, every puzzle a key, and for every tear a smile? Can you not wait?”

She looked at me blankly, her eyes red and swollen.

“Listen, little princess! Your tough times will pass away soon, because no time stays for ever, never!”

She nodded slightly and looked down.

“Do you hear? Why don’t you speak?” I asked, thinking I knew why.

She kept silent, now tracing imaginary circles from her right hand’s index on her left palm. I went closer and held out my hand. She did nothing. I then tried putting my own on her shoulder but it passed right through.

One of us wasn’t possibly existing.

14 responses

  1. Listen little princess, this is awesome.🙂

    April 6, 2014 at 9:40 pm

  2. Ahmed Usman

    it took off sharply and is awesomely ended!

    April 6, 2014 at 9:51 pm

  3. Oh.My.God.

    April 6, 2014 at 10:15 pm

  4. Excellent piece!

    April 7, 2014 at 1:56 am

  5. Did you write this for me? ^_^
    Khair. Two things to mention before I burst into telling you how simply good it was.
    1) Urdu title and english post. Ingenious.😉
    2) The last line.❤ It could be the start for a poem.

    April 7, 2014 at 10:16 am

  6. This is brilliantly written. I love it so much. This is one of my favorties by you.🙂
    And it couldnt have come at better time than this. Thanks =)

    April 7, 2014 at 1:48 pm

  7. Tayyeba

    ;_;….

    April 7, 2014 at 9:20 pm

  8. “One of us possibly didn’t exist”…how on earth did your thoughts conjure up something like this!!
    A new genre again!

    April 8, 2014 at 11:32 pm

  9. Mesmerizing piece! You have a knack for instantly connecting the reader with what you have written, fantastic😀 x

    April 9, 2014 at 12:35 am

  10. Thank you so much Beckarooney, Pamela, Tayyeba, Miss Maqsood, Ghalia, Wajahat, Moniba, Usman, and Rabia for your comments.❤🙂
    It means a lot to me, you wonderful people! ^_^

    P.S. The title 'Khayaal' does not only mean 'thought' in Urdu but it also means 'an illusion' in Somali.
    Love.

    April 9, 2014 at 10:22 pm

  11. I almost guessed the ending from the second paragraph. But you managed to fool me by leaving who the illusion was ambiguous.

    May 1, 2014 at 4:38 pm

    • Ahan! Thank you for reading, Cabrogal. Thank you for commenting. :’)

      May 1, 2014 at 4:54 pm

  12. miss.mysterious

    ~One of us wasn’t possibly existing.~
    OMG I thought so…yay I was right!😀
    Enjoyed B/

    June 19, 2015 at 10:02 pm

Leave a Reply

