Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

The Centipede Effect.

CentipedeAndFrog_

The centipede effect, or the centipede dilemma, is a psychological effect which occurs when “a normally automatic or unconscious activity is disrupted by consciousness of it or reflection on it.”

Here, I have arranged the story of a philosopher frog and the centipede in 100 (and 15) letters to denoteย  the 100-footed’s effect. The form I have tried to follow is that of concrete/visual poetry which was today’s task under the theme of ‘Animal’.

Related links:

31 responses

  1. Very creative. Thanks for including the explanation of this effect. I loved your poem and the way you were concrete with it. And the presentation of the last word was great.

    February 20, 2015 at 1:09 am

    • Thanks a million for your kind comment! It made my day!๐Ÿ™‚

      February 20, 2015 at 1:40 am

  2. Ah no, I love centipedes.. Very nice! And like the use of the frog colour too.

    February 20, 2015 at 1:18 am

  3. I like the way you think, using 100 letters for legs.

    February 20, 2015 at 1:28 am

  4. How did you get the background color?

    February 20, 2015 at 1:29 am

    • I converted my text into image using branah. That is where I worked on the formats.

      February 20, 2015 at 1:49 am

  5. Excellent! Even more so with the explanation – I wasn’t aware of this! A full poem – words, meaning, shape, colour….has it all! Great job!๐Ÿ™‚

    February 20, 2015 at 2:38 am

    • Thank you for your wonderful feedback, sir!

      I learnt about the centipede effect last week only; it was fun including this in a poetic form.๐Ÿ™‚

      February 20, 2015 at 11:45 am

  6. A great thinkpiece with bonus visual aesthetic. Great job!

    February 20, 2015 at 3:11 am

  7. It should be called “The story of the centipede and head-fuck frog”.

    I had a flatmate who used to love making me conscious of my own activity while I was ‘in the zone’ – immediately dumping me out of the zone and making me far more awkward.

    February 20, 2015 at 4:10 pm

  8. First of all, thanks for teaching me a new thing… hadn’t heard that phrase before but, boy do I recognise it!
    I think you did a wonderful job with this assignment! its perfect!
    Kat x

    February 20, 2015 at 6:56 pm

  9. I was wondering how long did it take you to make that graphic!

    February 20, 2015 at 8:36 pm

  10. I can see you growing, marcee :’)
    Very proud of youโค

    February 20, 2015 at 11:21 pm

  11. how do I breath? oh no!

    February 21, 2015 at 1:13 am

  12. Reblogged this on Seamless Writing and commented:
    A lovely example of a ‘concrete poem’ , beautifully worded, colour perfect !!
    Sigh !!!

    February 23, 2015 at 8:36 pm

  13. Oh I loved your Centipede so much!

    February 23, 2015 at 11:55 pm

  14. AA

    Creative skills you’ve got!

    February 24, 2015 at 2:39 am

  15. Samjoth

    “The centipede effect”
    now I am scared ..!!!!
    You have so much of creativity I see๐Ÿ™‚
    Good going..!!

    March 4, 2015 at 1:03 pm

    • It can actually get scary when someone thinks about it. Walking, for example, can become weirdly tough. (experienced-)

      Thank you for your comment and appreciation!๐Ÿ™‚

      March 7, 2015 at 10:45 pm

      • Samjoth

        My pleasure๐Ÿ™‚
        and thanks for the “centipede effect”๐Ÿ™‚
        Was a new learn..!!

        March 7, 2015 at 11:03 pm

Leave a Reply

