Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Sonnet: Twenty days.

Twenty days you said it will take, twenty days for you to return
Twenty days of strife and wait, but never again, you swore
Twenty days and more have passed, since months I do now yearn
Flowers on the table set, I keep ajar my door.

It will get better, I tell myself, though future haunts me like a ghost,
Like a ghost does future haunt me now as I struggle to make past here.
No tiding came, no key, no hint; could you send a letter at most?
It is not just painful, devastating it is— to see a loved one disappear.

Practiced I have all words to say, prepared I am to forgive,
When you come you will find in spirits good, me offering all I may.
But it’s not a matter as simple as that, for I worry now where you live…
It’s a dark dark world of gloomy nights– sun brings forth a woeful day.

I hope you come and I hope you are well, hoping I fear I will die
For twenty days and more have passed, and I see no sign nigh.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

P/N: Today is the last day of the writing 201 poetry challenge and I have really, really enjoyed doing this course.

That thing above is my first try at a sonnet and it follows the ABAB CDCD EFEF GG rhyme format, consists of 14 verses, an example of Chiasmus and well, some emotions. The prompt we were given to use was “future” and yes, I’d love to know what you think of it.🙂

(Image via artgallery.com.ua)

20 responses

  1. Juliet Qoey

    Intense but lovely poem🙂 Nicely done! Plus I liked your use of internal rhyming too.

    February 28, 2015 at 1:06 am

  2. I think perhaps it is beautiful, and sad, and wistful, and full of your beautiful soul. Peace, my precious friend, peace.

    February 28, 2015 at 10:00 am

    • Bob, thank you so extremely much for your kind comment and also, for being the wonderful friend you are.🙂

      February 28, 2015 at 1:40 pm

  3. Udhamm cheeezzz❤ :')

    February 28, 2015 at 4:10 pm

  4. Another cracker Maria.

    But hey, there is something happening in your life apart from losing your beloved, right?😉

    February 28, 2015 at 6:39 pm

    • Oh yes. A cool book fair, a crazy university schedule, a choral “I-love-you-you-love-me-we-are-a-happy-family” with nephew and fam, et cetera. But the beloved ouch ouch…

      February 28, 2015 at 7:30 pm

  5. I know nothing about the technical aspect of poetry, sonnets or whatever, all I know is I loved it. I love how it contains so many emotions in just few lines. Everything from sadness to longing to despair…You are so talented Twinny!❤

    February 28, 2015 at 8:08 pm

  6. wow , this is killer poetry (and i mean it in a very positive sense you knw), alla.

    March 3, 2015 at 11:59 pm

  7. meenakshiwarrier

    Maria! This is so beautiful!❤

    April 15, 2015 at 3:43 pm

  8. This was your first sonnet? Awesome!!

    October 17, 2015 at 6:35 pm

    • Yes, this was my first one (as of now, my only one too). Thank you!❤❤

      October 17, 2015 at 6:40 pm

Leave a Reply

