Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Blisters

If a poem could hold even half the burden I am carrying inside
and give me peace (I ask a bit)
I’d write it.
But heart is wild and I have stepped into fire so my face and feet are burning.
A paper is too far away.

I got a brush sitting near so I hold it to the flames because I know
I know that if I try I can turn them blue
like skies or water
and it won’t hurt anymore
but you see, it just melted in my hand and I only got more blisters.

Trust me I wanted to heal.

Your promised land of perfect endings now dances before my eyes:
it’s full of rainbows, calm waves, butterflies and roses combined.
But oh destiny unkind! My throat chokes and scars scream and fingers just don’t reach.

My fingers just don’t reach.

18 responses

  1. Ouch.
    Caught me right in the guts with that ending Maria.

    June 1, 2015 at 11:31 am

  2. i came back after a long time to blogging and this is the first thing i read…… Brilliant, truthfully written.

    June 3, 2015 at 11:53 pm

    • hey, thank you!.. and welcome back! write something!πŸ™‚

      June 4, 2015 at 5:33 pm

  3. “Your promised land of perfect endings now dances before my eyes:
    it’s full of rainbows, calm waves, butterflies and roses combined.
    But oh destiny unkind! ” Oh MY. Brilliant

    June 8, 2015 at 6:20 pm

  4. I would give away everything I’ve ever written for that last line. Magnificent.

    June 10, 2015 at 8:10 pm

  5. Its been a long since I visited your Blog Maria..Hope u remember me…πŸ™‚
    Now this is very beautifully written,very nicely composed…πŸ™‚,like all your other poetry this one also deserve applauds..:-)

    June 12, 2015 at 8:44 pm

    • Been long indeed.. but I definitely remember you, neighbor!πŸ˜€ How have you been?
      Also, thank you so much! I am *really* glad you like it.πŸ™‚

      June 12, 2015 at 10:34 pm

  6. Hey Maria, I have nominated you for 3 awards:)

    https://akhizmunawar.wordpress.com/2015/06/14/more-awards/

    June 15, 2015 at 1:08 am

  7. Sanity is crushed under the captivity of blisters. But a stoic calm still exists.

    June 16, 2015 at 12:15 am

  8. This one sings, I tell you! ❀

    June 17, 2015 at 1:25 am

  9. Reblogged this on RIP the moth that killed my flame.

    August 4, 2015 at 3:48 pm

  10. WOW Maria. WOW.

    September 13, 2015 at 3:49 pm

Leave a Reply

