Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Truly Yours.

To you, I want to give flowers–I don’t mind that being cliched–

Roses, wrapped in ribbons. Letters, soaked in perfume. Stars.

Unnecessary though it might be, I want to tell you again and so often

Love, how much I have come to love you that I’ve now begun to live you.

Your thought is my drug, your memory is heaven’s mercy,

Your presence is an air without which my lungs parch up.

Oh the Sun of my universe, the Light of my soul!

Undying is my adoration–like a forever flowing ocean.

Remember this: my gift to you is my heart. I am yours.

Some day you’ll see. That some day, we will be.

Written in response to Writing 201 challenge: write something about a gift, use a simile. Poem form: acrostic. (The first letters of each line together form a special word which is the theme here.) Hi.

47 responses

  1. This is so beautiful!!

    October 7, 2015 at 4:32 am

  2. Absolutely love it!

    October 7, 2015 at 4:45 am

  3. This is lovely. I was cruising the Commons for inspiration to do MY acrostic (which means you’re not last), and this totally gave it to me.

    October 7, 2015 at 4:45 am

    • Oh Rhoda, thank you so much! I am glad it did. I really want to read yours now. (Oh and good luck for today!)❤

      October 7, 2015 at 2:51 pm

  4. Love it! Very well done.

    October 7, 2015 at 4:46 am

  5. Dear Randomly Abstract, ditto with the previous comments. Reading this made me slow down and appreciate life. I can tell it’s from the heart. Beautiful.

    October 7, 2015 at 4:54 am

    • Hello, kind one! I love your comment so much! Thank you for making my day. I hope you have a great one.🙂

      October 7, 2015 at 2:55 pm

  6. Alexander

    I love the sentiment, I feel that you took a lot of care and time to write this, I like it!

    October 7, 2015 at 5:02 am

    • Hey Alexander! So glad to see you again! Honestly, this one did take much…🙂 Thank you ever so much for reading!

      October 7, 2015 at 3:00 pm

  7. Beautifully written. This poem flows nicely. I reread it several times. Love it!

    October 7, 2015 at 6:00 am

  8. Beautiful.🙂

    October 7, 2015 at 8:13 am

  9. Lovlay❤

    October 7, 2015 at 9:05 am

  10. Yay! This is a kilig-inducing poem!!! So sweeet!

    October 7, 2015 at 12:13 pm

  11. This is so good that it inspired me to try my hand at writing an acrostic poem. Sad to say it turned out to be .. er.. not very noteworthy.

    October 7, 2015 at 3:11 pm

    • Aray that is so cool!😀 Did you have fun doing it? I want to seee.

      October 7, 2015 at 3:18 pm

      • Oh, I don’t know if I had fun. More like scratched the scalp off my head searching for words😀

        Here you go:

        Behold!
        Emperor of the world!
        Holder of the Crown!
        Under whom the Kingdom
        Dares to exert
        A mighty frown, on

        All those who don’t
        Accede, to the
        Demands of the
        Mad king, who
        Is but a Djinn

        (Kill me now)

        October 7, 2015 at 3:25 pm

        • Ahaha! That’s actually amazing. So much power in these lines. And I want to write one in Urdu now. xD

          October 7, 2015 at 3:43 pm

          • Hahaha, you’re too polite😀
            Go ahead. I’ll be keeping an eye out.

            October 7, 2015 at 3:47 pm

          • I’ll try, insha Allah.😀 You should, too. Urdu acrostics, that would be new.

            October 7, 2015 at 3:53 pm

          • My Urdu knowledge is rudimentary. So that won’t work. I’ll see if I can come up with something less puke-inducing in English (or Hindi).

            October 7, 2015 at 3:56 pm

          • Hindi, yes. You have Faraz and Ghalib I think, on your blog. Do try!🙂

            October 7, 2015 at 3:59 pm

          • In sha Allah🙂

            October 7, 2015 at 4:00 pm

  12. This one is so cool. I’m your fan, autograph please?🙂
    Your poems have been making me understand Ma’m Huma’s lectures. Thanks so much :p

    October 7, 2015 at 3:54 pm

    • Hahaha. Jazakillah, Mahaay.
      I need to know about Mam Huma’s lectures. :p

      [♥]

      October 7, 2015 at 4:05 pm

  13. okay you know this is amazing, right?
    *_*

    October 7, 2015 at 4:07 pm

  14. Pingback: Acrostic poem | Sulphurman

  15. I came across your blog through sulphurman’s and you’re as good as he says you are!🙂

    I think this is a really cool way of writing poems!

    October 8, 2015 at 11:38 am

    • Hello neighbor!
      Thank you so much! I am reaaally glad you think so.🙂

      October 10, 2015 at 3:01 pm

  16. This is so cool, Mario! Of course beautiful as well!😀❤

    October 8, 2015 at 4:40 pm

  17. “how much I have come to love you that I’ve now begun to ‘live’ you” …Twin I’m always at loss of words when I read your poetry, it’s baffling how beautifully you write, really…

    October 11, 2015 at 5:00 pm

    • I am at a loss of words filhal, honestly. Thank you so much for the kind comment, twinny. Much love to you.

      October 11, 2015 at 9:55 pm

  18. Maria, Love, how much I have come to love you that I’ve now begun to live you. I LOVE this line so so much. Kuch words hotay hain na jin ko perh k apka dil kerta hai baar baar perho aur pher yaad ker k memory me save ker lu. Aisi line hai. Beautiful poetry. Really beautiful.
    I really wish I could write about love once again. But I can’t right now. You are amazing at this. Really.

    October 13, 2015 at 12:54 am

Leave a Reply

