Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

The universe smiles with me.

“Sea waves kiss my feet. I bend to hold wet sand in my hand and close my fingers for a while to feel. It slips away when I open them again but the lines on my palm glitter with a soft silver gleam. I turn back and night shifts and I find myself in another place. There is no sea, no waves, no wind. But the inside of my hand glitters still. I lay back down and find grass beneath me. Soothing and serene. I touch some strands to gather green. It tickles, softly. Your name I write then, on my skin, and smile. The universe smiles with me.”

Written in response to writing challenge 201: “Skin”. (Write a prose poem using internal rhymes; choose whatever meaning of skin speaks most to you.)

14 responses

  1. You are right. We are smiling. We are smiling at this thing of beauty you wrote.

    October 8, 2015 at 12:58 am

  2. Alexander

    fantastic🙂

    October 8, 2015 at 1:19 am

  3. I especially love your first line: “Sea waves kiss my feet”. I can smell the saltwater and taste it on my upper lip! Smiling I am. So nice to meet you in writing 201!

    October 8, 2015 at 1:58 am

    • So nice to meet you too! Thank you very, very much. I love your response and I am so glad you like this. Have a great day!

      October 8, 2015 at 8:35 pm

  4. I am in this Universe! <-This was confirmed by the fact that I too smiled when I read this.Lovely description. (: You made me miss the beach.😦
    Just don't ever stop writing!

    October 8, 2015 at 9:12 am

  5. Hiba

    🌹

    October 8, 2015 at 6:03 pm

  6. PERFECT ! JUST PERFECT !!

    October 11, 2015 at 5:17 pm

  7. Beautiful. Beautiful…

    October 13, 2015 at 1:02 am

Leave a Reply

