Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Ghosts of our love.

I make the world’s best coffee.
I know this because you said it.
You said it because you meant it.
You meant it because you loved me.
You loved me why?

I stand here in my house – once what meant “home” – and shiver like a leaf
Because the enormity of this place seems terrifying without you and I feel I can’t do without my roots.

Walls shake as your laughter echoes, the defenses I had made come crumbling down
I can no more understand where to look for you – or not to – as my feet take me running round and round

My ears are ringing now with a voice that isn’t yours, my vision blurs with something that should be tears
My mind is on fire and my heart in a sea, and my room and its clock and its bed and its floor
And your pen and your shirt and your watch and your sheets
And your smiles and your eyes, and your eyes, and your eyes.

Then you come and hold me – out of where?
Whisper something soothing like a prayer;
Running your fingers through my hair, you hold my gaze and say: “darling, please take care”

I listen to you and sit down.
Cross my legs, bend my head, begin to count.
I notice that my breathing calms and the knots in my body do unknot
As your scent enters into me and your soul takes a spot.

37 responses

  1. There are so many senses in this poem. Vision and sounds, and touch and smell. And something that cannot be perceived. Beautiful.

    October 15, 2015 at 4:47 pm

  2. I absolutely got lost in this. It’s highly poignant. But I think there’s a bit of comfort in sadness, a kind of comfort which separates you from the rest. Moreover, winters are approaching, and for me, being cold in coldness is a true gift of sadness which I think we all should feel. You’re an honest writer, your time will come, and when it comes, you’ll miss this melancholia. Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece (:

    October 15, 2015 at 4:50 pm

    • Hey Hamid.
      I got lost in it too, when I was writing it. It was…good. I am glad you like it.
      Also, I think I treasure that even now; I believe in the process. Thank you for your kind comment. (=

      October 15, 2015 at 9:15 pm

  3. Beautifully done. Oozing with feelings. love it!

    October 15, 2015 at 4:51 pm

  4. I love you too.

    October 15, 2015 at 5:14 pm

  5. Ahhh! Quite an emotive and captivating article! I enjoyed reading that. Well done🙂

    October 15, 2015 at 6:46 pm

  6. This is beautiful. I love it. I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award: https://peace4me521.wordpress.com/2015/10/15/one-lovely-blog-award-2/

    October 15, 2015 at 9:29 pm

  7. Re-blogging this. And this time, please don’t say any.. Ums and Uhs. I love this. I love you. My one talented awkward friend❤

    October 15, 2015 at 9:35 pm

    • Haha! I’m only awkward when I can’t be cool, Mahay. THANK YOU SO MUCH.❤ Thank you.

      October 15, 2015 at 9:58 pm

  8. Reblogged this on Flickering Lanterns and commented:
    My friend, yes, MY FRIEND wrote this amazingly beautiful piece! God I’m so proud of her.❤

    October 15, 2015 at 9:36 pm

  9. When you visit your father’s home which once upon a time was home to your mother too, every act you do there is an act of remembrance and a eulogy to the old times. Thanks for the poem. I cant comment on the literary devices but your poem resonated really HARD with me.

    October 15, 2015 at 11:51 pm

    • Oh. Yes, it must be so. I don’t know what else to say.. but hey, thank you for coming.

      October 16, 2015 at 12:17 am

  10. Hiba

    Lost in this.

    October 16, 2015 at 6:10 pm

  11. Reblogged this on Lost amidst chaos… and commented:
    I don’t know how she does it but again she gave words to my feelings without even talking to me and asking me what I feel!

    October 17, 2015 at 5:01 pm

  12. I got lost while reading it. Maria, your writing keeps getting more powerful and beautiful after every single post. Masha Allah! Bless you my little one! ❤

    October 17, 2015 at 5:04 pm

  13. Omg! This is beautifulllL! “Your laughter echoes through the wall” Nice!😉

    October 28, 2015 at 5:00 pm

  14. I wasn’t looking for anything when I started reading. In fact I don’t even know how I got here. But I am glad I did. I loved this post and I look forward to reading more when time permits! Keep writing!🙂

    November 1, 2015 at 11:36 am

  15. Falak

    Allaahhh
    its the little things that will always make you cry and remind you of a million memories. its simple and heartbreaking. bittersweet. beautiful.
    Love these lines:
    “And your pen and your shirt and your watch and your sheets
    And your smiles and your eyes, and your eyes, and your eyes.”
    The smells and the smiles and the eyes… how they can make the most comfortable of places, make you feel empty and lost.

    November 5, 2015 at 2:42 am

    • Thank you! ❤ So much.
      I personally liked those lines too.
      Always the little things… (Can I tell you I love your comment? I read it more than once. This and the one on Tumharay Naam. And like I said, it was great to see you here.)

      November 9, 2015 at 1:27 am

  16. Hiba

    I can read your blog again and again, it blows me away every time.
    Yes, I’m stalking your blog😀
    And I have fallen in love with it all over again.
    You have beautiful thoughts, Maria🙂

    December 4, 2015 at 8:52 pm

    • Jazakillah!❤
      It means to me that you think so.

      December 4, 2015 at 9:01 pm

      • Hiba

        :))

        December 4, 2015 at 10:12 pm

  17. Xnb

    Reblogged this on the Z plane….

    December 5, 2015 at 5:56 am

Leave a Reply

