Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

To move on

How easy
It was
For you
To move on
And fall in love
With this guy
And in his arms,
Say:
You’re home.

How easy
You say
It was for me
To move on
And fall in love
With this other guy
And call him home.

How easy
I ask
Do you think
Can it be
To fall out
Of a home
You’ve always called home
When the landlord
Of His Heart
Decides
To throw you out
And say:
It is done.

How easy
I ask
Do you think
Could it possibly be
To find
The curtains, red, of your passion
Lit by fire
That extinguishes never
Even after
You’ve sprayed
Countless bottles
Of healing water.

How far
Had we come
And how far
Are we now.
But do you see
The scars
I still have
Just about everywhere?

And right now
You stand
And ask
How easy
It was
For me to move on
It was not
Easy at all.

17 responses

  1. Definitely not easy at all. That’s why I believe that a relationship between a man and a woman is unique. Just one man for one woman for all of life. I believe the two become one, and so when divorce or breakup happens, it’s like a ripping of oneself. Ripping in half.
    So yes, I totally agree with you Ria. It’s not easy at all.
    Well done, my friend.πŸ™‚β€

    January 13, 2016 at 5:38 pm

  2. This is an amazing piece Ria. I love how you begin with “How easy it was” but ended with the reality, which is “it was Never easy”. Lord knows it isn’t easy at all.

    January 13, 2016 at 6:19 pm

  3. I agree with Ameena.
    But how are you, Maria?

    January 13, 2016 at 6:32 pm

  4. Very well expressed, Maria.

    January 13, 2016 at 6:42 pm

  5. hi sis.How are you?
    Your this piece of poetry inspired me dear.
    Waiting to read moreπŸ™‚

    February 11, 2016 at 5:14 pm

    • Hey there!πŸ™‚ I am good Alhamdulillah, thank you. I hope you’re doing great. So glad you stopped by!

      March 29, 2016 at 12:30 am

  6. Sorry for skipping around the blog but I have to say : you’ve grown immensely as a poet and this reflects in your work!

    Now i’ll silently go through the rest of the things I have missed on this blogπŸ˜‰

    February 15, 2016 at 9:37 pm

    • Heyy. Thank you. How have you been?

      Your presence always reminds me of that Urdu shair you once shared. I am so glad you stopped by.❀

      March 29, 2016 at 12:37 am

      • Oh a bit of this and a bit of that has kept me away 😁
        On a serious note its just laziness and studies..since you mentioned Urdu poetry here’s another gem I have stumbled upon:

        Shaoor ka hai karishma ya shoaq e tanhaai
        K rafta rafta dil se utar rahey hain log

        April 30, 2016 at 12:08 am

        • I seee. Where’s your blog, though? You wrote a naat last se last Ramadan, nahi? (I hope I’m not mixing things here; I recall reading a very amazing Urdu poem on yours.)

          Shukran for sharing this! I love it when people do that.

          Good everything to you, m.πŸ™‚

          June 14, 2016 at 6:22 pm

  7. Beautiful poetry. Mind if you could check out my poetry blog?
    https://poetry2473.wordpress.com
    We could follow each other if you like my writing.

    November 8, 2016 at 8:58 am

Leave a Reply

