Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

An Apology

Here is an apology
For each tear, every cut on your heart
And everything you feel you deserve one for
But never got.

Here is that apology which couldn’t reach you before
For your lost years, or lost months, or lost weeks
Or just lost days-in-between.
For the sound your bones make when you pull up from a non-sleep
To join another meaningless chase.
For the voice that no more chokes
On hearing, or saying, the word sorry
For your uncontrollable sobs of yesteryear
The memories of which you’ve swept under your chest
To be crushed by the burden of this same meaningless chase we know nothing about.

I cannot mend what is lost
I cannot even change what got wasted but I can hope
And I do. I hope for peace to find you and provide you with just as more strength as you need
Just more strength, as always,
Until you become your hero.
Again. Only this time more truly.

With love.

22 responses

  1. its 2:13 am and im readin this… its for me and everyone who is on this journey called life, thank you for writing this. kudos.

    March 25, 2016 at 3:02 am

  2. Beautifully composed! Truly lovely!

    March 25, 2016 at 8:02 am

  3. Thanks, Maria πŸ˜₯ honestly this felt like it was meant for me. This is so beautiful and sometimes all one can need are prayers and hope πŸ™‚
    I hope you’ve been well :’)

    March 25, 2016 at 11:22 pm

    • Hiba.❀
      I've been well, shukran. You're right, sometimes that's all we can need. I'm glad if it meant anything to you! Much love.

      March 30, 2016 at 5:19 pm

      • 🌷

        March 30, 2016 at 8:03 pm

  4. Aw Mars I love this and I love you.❀
    This hit me like a train. Tbh.

    March 26, 2016 at 2:07 am

  5. Thank You Mario! Perfectly timed❀
    Love you Padosi.

    March 27, 2016 at 3:40 pm

    • Love you too and you know it. Always. ❀

      (Parosi)

      March 30, 2016 at 5:21 pm

  6. Painfully soft
    and light brutally,
    customary significant,
    but not so significant ritually…
    an overdue apology!

    A piece very well written, mam.

    March 28, 2016 at 1:30 am

  7. Step 1: Appreciate the poem
    Achchha tha… I am sure that the apology that couldn’t reach the person — because it lost it’s way — has finally reached the destination…πŸ™‚

    Step 2: Clarify genuine doubts (appreciation in disguise)
    “Until you become ‘your’ hero.”
    You didn’t mean ‘my hero’… did you?

    Step 3: Apologise
    Well… *ashamed*

    And lastly….

    Step 4: Vent out the ‘slightest’ of anger that I hadπŸ˜›
    Why did you change your name from ‘Randomly Abstract’ to ‘Ria’??😦
    I used to read your posts via email when they came from Randomly Abstract… Due to this name change… kitne saare posts miss ho gaye… huh😦

    April 22, 2016 at 4:03 pm

    • Hey hey hey! Namaste, salam. :p Mainy 2 dafa reply likha, bus send nhi ho paya. :p How is everything?

      Dhonnobad! (And sigh to unfinished lessons…)

      4: I changed to Ria cuz it looked more of a name plus I was having doubts about the longer one after someone said something lol plus Ria was my own first name’s last part AND it also had R and A of randomly abstract with an “I” in between which, added with the M and A that were removed (from my own name), compiled to form such interesting theories in my head that I just couldn’t not. I am sorry for the inconvenience it caused, and I am also sorry for this messy explanation.πŸ˜› I would’ve certainly suggested you to go back and read those gems you missed had I not known how useless that would be. Life’s too short, after all. :p

      Point 3: yes, well…

      Point 2: “And I do. I hope for peace to find you and provide you with just as more strength as you need//Just more strength, as always//Until you become your hero.” so yeah, until You become Your own hero..

      June 11, 2016 at 4:07 pm

  8. “until you become your hero. only this time more truly”. The first thing that I do when I visit my blog after ages is read your poetry.. And that is always a worthy decision. Loads of love to Meri Pyaari Maria ^_^

    August 1, 2016 at 9:51 am

    • Love, love, love you. Thank you for…being you. and this.

      I saw your last post but it was in Hindi. So I didn’t quite get it..

      Happy independence day though!πŸ™‚

      August 14, 2016 at 11:51 pm

  9. Until you become your hero again… wow Maria. So beautiful and painfully perfect as everyone needs to listen this kind of apology from a person that matters.
    Just Catching up with your old posts.

    September 7, 2016 at 4:28 pm

    • ❀ Thank you!

      You're right, we do. Then sometimes we have to give it ourselves..to us.

      October 9, 2016 at 11:13 pm

  10. Wow Maria, really touching. You are right, sometimes we have to give it to ourselves but it would really feel nice if one hear it from the concerned person.
    Anyway another great piece of writing. Wish you the best.

    November 2, 2016 at 10:58 am

    • True.❀ And thank you so much. It's good to see you here again.

      November 7, 2016 at 1:17 am

      • My pleasureπŸ™‚

        November 8, 2016 at 5:06 pm

Leave a Reply

